1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support EVO does not boot unless plugged in

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msr4, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. msr4

    msr4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    My EVO 4G wont boot to the OS unless it is plugged into AC or USB. If it's not, it bootloops on the white "HTC EVO 4G" screen.

    Can someone help me please? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Hmmm, I never heard of this bug before.

    Are you rooted?
    When did you get the phone?
    Have you had the same battery since you got the phone?

    I'm thinking it might be battery related since when it's on the usb charging it works fine.

    PS: Welcome to the forums!!
     
  3. msr4

    msr4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Replaced this EVO with a brand new motherboard, and also got a brand new battery. This wasn't happening on stock though. Got it only last week.
     
  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,293
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    on stock what? ROM or Motherboard?
    Who replaced the motherboard?
    new battery doesn't necessarily mean its a "Good" battery it still could be bad. Could try another battery.
     
  5. msr4

    msr4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    I personally replaced it, everything was working fine. Tried other batteries, none worked.

    I was on the latest stock 4.54.61.1 (I think those are the numbers...), and the motherboard is HW 0004

    If you need my history of event's I'll tell you what I've done.

    1. S-OFF and rooted with Revolutionary.
    2. Revolutionary wasn't flashing recovery properly, so I had to manually flash CWMR with Fastboot in ADB.
    3. Got in CWMR, and flashed gingerbread-evo-deck 1.3, flashed Google Apps. Rebooted, issue began happening.
    4. Went into HBOOT, and tried to change recovery to Amon RA, see if it'd do anything, nope.
    5. Went into recovery, and tried to flash SavagedZen, nope.
     
  6. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,293
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Ok you done things through ADB which I have personally never used. Since you have S-off you should be able to change recoveries. (You Stated You Tried to change) so I am assuming you were not successful. In my sig is the Rooting For Dummies Gingerbread you can find the files you need in there. Did you try to install Amon RA from the ADB or Flash it with the PC36IMG.zip file?

    Did you manually wipe everything at least 3 times before the flash of your ROM?

    Also For Future References it would be best to post these issues in the All Root Section you will have a better chance of getting help. Hopefully Granite or one of the other guides will be in here soon and be able to move this thread to the appropriate forum. Allow the mods to move it please don't make another post. We'll continue to help you here until its moved.
     
  7. msr4

    msr4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    I tried the complete wipe. It didn't work.


    I also just tried to RUU back to stock, and my device is rebooting on its own now.
     
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,293
    953
    The Infernal Swamp

    The complete wipe option usually only does data and cache you need to wipe everything except sdcard
     
  9. msr4

    msr4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    Granite1 likes this.
  10. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...