1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EVO questions (just upgraded from Palm Pre)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roymus, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    Just upgraded to EVO from Palm Pre and I couldn't be happier. The only thing I miss about the Pre is the multi-tasking, but the Droid comes pretty close with scenes...and oh, the apps! We Pre users have been deprived for so long! Some basic questions:

    Rooting on the Pre was a bit easier, but it seems necessary on the EVO as well. Is the "Unrevoked 3" on Android Central (HTC EVO 4G Unrevoked 3 Rooting Instructions - Android Central Forums) still the recommended way to do it if you're just interested in installing apps like WiFi Tether that require root? Also, in the root threads I see lots of references to EVO "ROMs"...what's ROM stand for? Is a ROM the same as an operating system "kernel" (Palm OS)?

    Once rooted, what's the best WiFi tether app? Wireless Tether for Root looks good, but there are others. Also, how many devices can be tethered? The Sprint hotspot supports 8...that would come handy in a pinch (power goes out and you're supporting a family of laptop users, for example)...may be worth the $30/month if root wifi only supports a single device.

    If I root using "Unrevoked 3" (why is it called that, btw?), will I have to reapply the root procedure when getting new OTA updates to Droid OS (in other words, is it "sticky")?

    Thanks in advance...if this needs to be moved to the Root subforum, my apologies. I've already got a bunch of great ideas and tips from this forum...I'll miss the PreCentral forum, but not much :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Have you tried long pressing the home button? That brings up a multitasking menu for easier use.

    That's what I used. I don't need full root. The biggest thing for me was wanting the ShootMe app and SetCPU. It works well for that.

    Why is Windows called Windows? Why is anything called what it is? Just the name the developers came up with. It's probably a slight nod to permissions to system files being unrevoked. Not to mention the EVO in the middle.

    As said on the Unrevoked and most every other root instructions page. Never allow an OTA update from Sprint or HTC to go through. Just like our last one, it took away the root exploit. Just wait two or three days and the Dev's will have a root version of the OTA available for you to go ahead and update safely and not affect your root status.
     
    timeizmoney22 and Roymus like this.
  3. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    I use multitask manager for app switching, only because long press home lists the last 6 apps you used even if they are closed. Multitask manager shows you all the running apps (and more than 6 if necessary).

    But long press home is a good basic task switcher.
     
  4. timeizmoney22

    timeizmoney22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    8
    1
    26
    Disabled
    Hartford,ct
    I also came from the pre and am excited about this phone and android in general, but I do miss my palm! Erasing things (emails for example) was as easy as a swipe on the pre. This phone you have to open the email, then hit menu, and then delete. Get's pretty repetative. Unless I'm doing it wrong.
     
  5. privraac

    privraac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    MN
    You should be able to long press on the message in the inbox to pull up a menu and delete. I agree, I liked the swipe delete option of my iTouch as well.
     
  6. evoman2be913

    evoman2be913 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    196
    81
    53


    Henne to Marshall ALL DAY BABY!!! LOL

    There is an easier way! When you launch your email and you see a list of all your emails, just hit menu and than delete which will bring up all your emails and they will have a box to the right of them, just tap the boxes on all the ones you choose to delete and than just hit delete on the bottom and it will delete all of em.

    Ready to sweep those jesters again!!! LMAO @ Sanchez what a joke!
     
    meyerweb, denise1768 and Cobravision like this.
  7. Cobravision

    Cobravision Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    784
    162
    93
    That's a great tip. Didn't know about that. Now I can dump all my junkmail at once.
     
  8. evoman2be913

    evoman2be913 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    196
    81
    53
    Exactly cobra! God junk mail is so aggravating.
     
  9. denise1768

    denise1768 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    152
    37
    43
    San Jose, CA
    OMG, why did I never see this?? THANK YOU!
     
  10. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    26
    43
    Thanks for all the answers and tips. I notice nobody chimed in on the wireless questions...is that verboten because it requires rooting? I was just wondering what is considered the best wireless tethering app (paid is ok), and how many devices it will support (compaired to the 8 that Sprint Hotspot will do). Thanks...
     
  11. kamikazekyle

    kamikazekyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    96
    16
    18
    Unless you pay for Sprint's wifi hotspot feature, you'll need to do a basic root and install Wifi Tether or something akin to that. Without rooting, you're limited to USB tethering and I think bluetooth and only if using EasyTether or PDANet. Sprint is in the process of locking down tethering (wired or wireless) if you haven't rooted. I can't say how many devices Wifi Tether supports on root since I haven't used it yet.

    ROMs from an Android perspective are basically an operating system. A kernel is the low-level portion of the OS that handles memory functions, processor scheduling, display, etc. A ROM contains a kernel, but you can swap out the kernel in a ROM with another one. For example, I'm running Fresh 1.0.1 ROM with the Toast kernel for unlocking the FPS cap.

    To get custom ROMs and kernels installed, you'll need to do a full root (basic root + NAND unlock w/ custom recovery ROM). I think SimpleRoot does it for everything nowadays with a one-button press.
     
  12. toeknee76

    toeknee76 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    47
    3
    16
    Indiana
     
  13. stainlessray

    stainlessray Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    642
    106
    113
    already said in details...;)
    the right coast
    Are you sure they are locking that down? where is that info from? seems like a persons right to use the device that way personally, with only a single laptop and all. why wouldn't they devote that attention to root users who seem to NEED to tether so badly they would probably pay if they only were forced to? me using my phone on a wired tether when my cable goes down, that's a right of mine by paying for the phone and service...
    It's greedy people who want to use the phone to circumvent the need for internet service in their homes are driving this buggy in to a ditch. before you know it, they'll just put us all on a tierd plan like att.
     
  14. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    They won't lock it down if people don't abuse it. I would have no problem with them inserting periodic "Do You Wish To Continue" breaks though if unfettered, nonstop use as a cable replacement is being done. It's clear to me that Sprint sells these phones and their capabilities for use primarily with the phone itself and that hotspotting to avoid cable was not Sprint's intent.
     
  15. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    504
    176
    93
    fixed that for ya.
     
  16. kamikazekyle

    kamikazekyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    96
    16
    18
    They already are. Many people have been getting Error 67's when trying to tether or a popup asking for a username/password. Some have had it resolve itself and work fine. Others it works fine after an update of a PRL or something else. Those with 4G connections tend not to have problems as rumor has it Sprint hasnt' fully disabled those yet. In other words, yes it's getting blocked, but it's somewhat random.

    Do keep in mind, however, this is with *native* HTC tethering. This does NOT include EasyTether, PDANet, or the like. Those use different means to bridge connections -- rather than a raw modem connection -- so can get around the native blocking Sprint does with some phones. Tether away using those.

    A user seems to have found a way around the native Sprint blocking:
    http://androidforums.com/support-tr...g-without-root-plus-usb-tether-static-ip.html

    I'm rooted and don't really tether so I dunno if that works.

    Can't find the originial post about Sprint blocking some connections, but here's one that came later:
    http://androidforums.com/support-troubleshooting-evo-4g/92733-problem-tethering.html

    Another:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/123537-wired-tethering-error-67-a.html

    Another:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/107892-tethering-hotspot-evo.html
     
  17. meyerweb

    meyerweb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    437
    110
    68
    Sigh. People need to understand what multi-tasking is, and what it's not. Multi-tasking means programs can continue to run in the background, instead only when in the foreground. and that multiple apps can run at the same time. Multi-tasking has nothing to do with the user interface and how those multiple apps are displayed. Android multi-tasks at least as well as WebOS.

    WebOS does have a better UI to switch between multiple running apps, except that it's much more resource intensive (ever see "too many open cards"?).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...