1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Evo shift no data

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Axkiker, May 22, 2011.

  1. Axkiker

    Axkiker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    Hey all .. I recently purchased a used evo shift and finally got it flashed and working on my sprint account. I keep getting an error 67 registration failure user name and password may not match.

    Now let me tell everyone that I do not currently have a data plan... Only voice and text.

    So is this error just from the phone trying to log into the sprint data network which I am not a member of? I assume that is the issue. If not please let me know.

    If that is the issue is there a way I can disable the phone from searching for the data network. I have no need to have data as im pretty much surronded by wifi. If I have to live with the error I guess I can, however if there is a way to fix it I would like to

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

    ajubea likes this.
  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    How do you only have a voice plan? A data plan is REQUIRED for this phone with sprint. Thats why you are getting that error.
     
  3. Axkiker

    Axkiker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    3
    2
    6
    Actually I just fixed the issue which was so simple I feel silly.. I just held down the power button and turned off the mobile network.. LOL... Error gone...


    My opinion on the whole "Required Data Plan" is that the people at Sprint are a bunch of crooks.... A data plan is definitely not required as mine is working fine... I have so many open networks around me that paying for a data plan is silly... I can just use WIFI....
     
    ajubea likes this.
  4. ajubea

    ajubea Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hey man, teach us how to avoid these Sprint crooks. I don't have a data plan but wish to have an HTC EVO.
     
  5. Kori_Tamashii

    Kori_Tamashii Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    277
    25
    43
    Being insane is a full time job.
    La Vista, NE
    Why would you want a smartphone without a data plan? I don't get it.
     
  6. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    Because they could be living in an area with alot of wifi available, like i.
    I still have data, but 90% of the time im on wifi.
    I basically only use data for tethering.
     
    ajubea likes this.
  7. ajubea

    ajubea Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have a 40Mbs WIFI surrounding me 90% of the time. And my car has GPS. What else would I need data plan for???
     

Share This Page

Loading...