1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root EVO slow tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DustyD392, Mar 7, 2011.

1. DustyD392

DustyD392 Newbie
    None

Mar 7, 2011
    Has anyone else had problems with the wireless tether on the EVO? If I run a speed test with it on 4G, it is usually 8-10Mbps, but if I tether it to my iPad, it seems like it's capped at around .5Mbps. I have tried a few different versions of the Android Tether, with no success. It never gives me any problems whatsoever, other than the fact that it is extremely slow. The iPad itself runs at about 5-6Mbps when paired with my home network, so I don't think that there is a problem with it.

I rooted my phone (I'm new at this, so forgive me, I don't know what version I have, but if you need the info, then you will probably have to tell me how to go about obtaining that information) right after I purchased it. The Sprint HotSpot does not work, though.

Any help would be appreciated!

Dusty

Advertisement

2. gmenfan83

gmenfan83 Android Expert
    None

You will get better answers if you posted this in the evo forum

3. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH

Feb 19, 2010
    Male
    moved this for you.

*note to evo guides: I am assuming this is a root question. It's vague, if not, stick it in support? TIA.

Steven

4. madflasher

madflasher Member
    None

Feb 12, 2011
    were you using the stock wireless tether? it only does 3g.
    try this one see if it helps..

ExSaint and DustyD392 like this.
  5. DustyD392

DustyD392 Newbie
    None

Mar 7, 2011
    I am using Android Tether, not the Sprint Mobile HotSpot app.

Dusty

6. madflasher

madflasher Member
    None

Feb 12, 2011
    did you try the hyperlink in my previous post?

7. DustyD392

DustyD392 Newbie
    None

Mar 7, 2011
    It does the same thing. Right now my 4g speed is 8.2Mbps on my EVO, but my iPad, while tethered, is only 512Kbps with the app from your link. I appreciate your help.