1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Evo V 4G RUU Flashing guide / Unroot guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jerofld, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    Restoring your backup unfortunately won't let you run the Ruu. The update upgraded your hboot which won't change back from restoring a backup. Probably the closest you could get at this point would be to flash a fresh copy of the stock rom and relock they bootloader. Though, the average user wouldn't even know it's unlocked. And anyone that cared would probably be happy to find it already done for them.
    Plus you will get the RELOCKED SECURITY WARNING on the bootloader which looks worse than unlocked Imo.
     

    Advertisement

    ramjet73 likes this.
  2. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    They aren't, they're easily downloaded right from HTC themselves. :p
    OB
     
  3. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC

    This may be that one thing I was referring to:

    So you're saying I can ignore that? Also, with S-OFF are you saying I just run the RUU, or are you saying with S-OFF I can change my HBOOT back to 1.57, then run the RUU?

    Can I simply run the RUU right now without taking any additional steps at all? No relocking bootloader, not hboot changing? No none of that?
     
  4. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    How then am I able to obtain a RUU that would work in my case? o:
     
  5. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    You don't, that's why s-on users were warned that they shouldn't take the latest ota, until/if/when HTC releases an updated RUU you're stuck with it.
    OB
     
  6. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    I think I'll release a flashable nandroid based (well, directly from) off the RUU's contents (system/recovery/data/etc)

    edit: worked :D (closest to stock ill ever get :p)
     
  7. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    Yep. Except I'm not 100% sure on the bootloader (see above)
     
  8. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Where?

    Most of the ones I've seen were leaked by football on XDA but he's stopped doing that. The only one for the Evo 3D/V I've seen posted on HTC's websites is an old Sprint GB version that was provided to fix a problem users were having doing the HTC unlock after updating with an OTA.

    ramjet73
     
  9. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Flashable zip files of the 2.95 stock ROM with all the OTA updates included were provided by negamann303 in this thread.

    ramjet73
     
  10. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Good lol cuz I think i screwed over my wifi module somehow (it gets stuck on obtaining ip address and shows the router's speed at "-1 MBs") which prevents me from usin 4ext since i flashed the stock recovery and i wouldn't be able to re-access it without this haha. Thanks :D

    edit: I guess that would be the case unless there's some way to convert it to make it work on TWRP which is quite possible, but this should work just as well as another method that I'll try first.
     
  11. hiashole

    hiashole Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Help this is driving me crazy. I downloaded all the files but I cant open the ruu. when I extracted the ruu zip there is no ruu.exe file, just a bunch of .img files. I downloaded the ruu zip from a couple of different places with the same results am i doing something wrong.
     
  12. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Doesn't the ruu.zip get renamed PG86IMG.zip then flashed off the SD card? If you have the .exe version, I think you run that from windows as an executable.

    There are two ways to do it, and it almost sounds like you're combining the methods. One of the Guides should be chiming in shortly to get you straightened out.
     
    Brian706 and ramjet73 like this.
  13. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    If you are S-OFF you can follow this guide to flash the RUU. The link for the RUU download goes to jmz's website that has both the .exe and .zip versions.

    For S-ON users the bootloader will need to be locked with the "fastboot oem lock" command and then you can flash the RUU using either method as long as you are still on the 1.13 (original) build. There's a zip that can be flashed to allow S-ON users on the 1.14 build to flash the RUU but no way to do it at this point on the 2.95 build.

    ramjet73
     
    Brian706 likes this.
  14. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    I'm a tad worried though about the part where the end user won't be able to do anymore OTA updating :p though I can probably just put that in the ebay description.
     
  15. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    We have fond that if you are stock and have the stock recovery, that you don't need to lock the bootloader to take the OTA... But if you felt better about it, you can always lock it with a simple fastboot command:
    fastboot oem lock
     
    ramjet73 likes this.
  16. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I am psyching myself up to RUU and get current with my firmware. Starting at page 1 and reading up to here, I have a question. The page one links don't work, and I saw where RamJet linked to the RUU, but the name had sprint in it. Does the EVO V and EVO 3D share the same RUU, or do they just both have Sprint in the name?

    Also, is this my workflow (I am s-off)

    1. Obtain and run the RUU
    2. Take both OTAs
    3. install 4EXT
    4. restore NAND or flash another ROM

    Do I need to concern myself with SU? Being S-OFF implies to me that I can just install 4EXT (which I've forgotten how I installed it the first time around, but I recall it was pretty easy :p)

    Actually, installing 4EXT requires SU and BusyBox right? I seem to recall installing 4EXT as a .apk. I also recall that I wasn't able to install 4EXT as my first recovery. I had to use TWRP first, or at least, I thought I did.

    Will I have to go through all that again?
     
  17. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    I have to say I didn't read through your whole post but you really don't need to ruu to update your firmware. You're s-off so you can just flash it through the bootloader. ;)
     
  18. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Luckily what I "discovered" is if you've used 4ext and you still have the data on your SD card, it saves the recovery.img in the downloads folder. You may be able to see if you still have a 4ext full backup and extract recovery.img from there and try to flash that. Otherwise, yep.
     
  19. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Well, something ramjet said about how its always best to update via the ruu is what prompted all of this.
     
  20. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    You can flash 4ext through fastboot just like you would twrp, if you snag the recovery.img from your sd card. The flash it through the app though, you need su already installed.
     
  21. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Yea, that's generally true but it depends on how much you've been flashing firmware bits (radios, PRI, etc.) as that seems to be what causes booting problems and other issues. I have firmware only zips for the March OTA's here for the Evo V and on XDA for the Evo 3D so I'd be a hypocrite to say never flash the firmware zip files, and that's effectively what the OTA does when it installs the standard way.

    But if you have any sort of booting or other weird problems starting fresh with the RUU and then updating the firmware will generally resolve them. We've already had examples of that on XDA for a few users that updated with the March firmware only zip file, but most have been OK.

    ramjet73
     
  22. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I'm not seeing that file. Do I need to create it while in 4ext? Also, does it go into the download sub folder of 4ext?
     
  23. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,431
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,431
    8,787
    1,053
    Drafter
    It's in a zip file that gets put in the download (not downloads) folder on the sd card. When you use the app to flash a new recovery version it first downloads it to that location and then installs automatically.
     
  24. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Well, I did it. I did the RUU and updated the OTAs. Then I got myself back to where I started, and am now on BluROM r-74.

    It took me like 2 hours to get it done, much longer than anticipated. I had trouble running the RUU.exe. It kept failing. I tried to extract the .zip as instructed, but couldn't find it. I'm sure it was related to the .exe failing to run. I saw the temp folder being created, but the .exe would always fail to run, and I never saw any ROM.zip files. I even rebooted my PC and that didn't help.

    The last thing I tried before it worked was to run the .exe as myself. Go figure. Even though i was logged in as the admin, I chose the second option, selected my user account from the drop down, entered my password, and it ran just fine. I can't figure out how this helped as I was already logged in as admin.

    Anyway, I am now up to date, and I'm going to spend the next hour configuring r-74 (I did a clean install)
     
    ramjet73 and Brian706 like this.
  25. sneaky_1

    sneaky_1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    437
    137
    68
    WNY
    Lulz, I wonder if I bought your Evo.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...