1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support EVO vs. DROID Google Backup question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hellspawn69, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. hellspawn69

    hellspawn69 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    19
    3
    16
    IT Manager
    So, when I set up my users at works DROID's, when you add a Google account, it backs up all the settings and stuff to it if I recall.
    When I set up my new EVO's, I don't recall seeing anything like that.
    Am I missing something, or does it just not work the same way?
    I was hoping for an easy method of backup up the phone, as hard resets seem unavoidable with any smart-phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Berner

    Berner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    316
    112
    68
    Chicago, IL
    Associating any Android phone with a Google account does not backup settings. It doesn't backup anything, in the strictest sense of the word. It syncs data, which can include email, contact information, calendars. It does not include text messages, system settings, third-party applications and other items.

    There are true backup applications for Android, of course.
     
  3. hellspawn69

    hellspawn69 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    19
    3
    16
    IT Manager
    Thanks Berner. I guess I misunderstood what the DROID was backup up to Google in the first place then.
    I think this question simply stemmed from the EVO not 'asking' me if I want Google to backup my stuff...

    Gonna have to do some research and find some good backup software. I would hate to have to go re-find all my App's.
     
  4. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    539
    261
    113
    Oregon
    I have never used a droid, but I recall some custom roms I was running with my hero that had that option, where you could backup wifi setting and such, could that be what you are talking about.

    And yes you are correct that I have not seen anything like that on the EVO.
     
  5. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    539
    261
    113
    Oregon
    Use titanium backup from the market:D
     
    me2u69 likes this.
  6. vblick

    vblick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    78
    7
    16
  7. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    The first time i saw that option was on CyanogenMod for my G1 with the Eclair rom. I didn't think much of it, but checked that option. Guess what, it does back up some of your stuff and I was hoping that the EVO had the same option. The BEST part about that option to backup to Google is... you don't have to redownload all of your apps. When I did a wipe on my G1, it automatically started downloading the apps I had on there previously. It's a great feature, much missed on my EVO since my EVO is going to be exchanged and I have to reinstall everything.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...