1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EVO's evdo reception icon?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by catchaspeck, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. catchaspeck

    catchaspeck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    6
    1
    26
    I live in an area where the evdo is not on yet (bummer), not to mention 4g service. i bought an evo when i finally cracked my treo screen. My wife and I went to a city with evdo and she showed an evdo signal icon on her hero but my evo didn't. Does the evo even show when it is receiving evdo?
     

    Advertisement

  2. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    608
    198
    93
    Washington, DC
    on the evo its a 3g icon but on the hero it shows evdo....they changed ot from evdo to 3g to make customers less confused i guess
     
  3. johnnychimpo26

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    i live in a heavy evdo area and its not showing on my evo. Just shows 3g up and down.
     
  4. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    608
    198
    93
    Washington, DC
    yeah the 3g icon stands for evdo on the evo
     
  5. catchaspeck

    catchaspeck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    6
    1
    26
    i have been told by sprint that the 3G icon does not reflect EVDO service and i know that the evdo service has not been activated in my area but yes, my 3G icon is showing.
     
  6. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    608
    198
    93
    Washington, DC
    hmmmm if it is constantly showing i guess there really isnt a way to know if u have evdo unless you go through the dialer codes which let u see the status of your evdo radio
     
  7. ImmaSlave4U

    ImmaSlave4U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    ^ that or trying out the browser. Not too difficult to notice the speed difference.
     
  8. catchaspeck

    catchaspeck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    6
    1
    26
    THEFORCE, how do you go thru the dialer codes? Im such a noob that ive shortened it to noo....
     
  9. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    608
    198
    93
    Washington, DC
    ##33248# select evdo engineering and see if anything is connected
    or go down to data status and under ip address you will see the network type
     
  10. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    As per the manual 3G icon animated (white) means active EVDO. 1x will show up in slower areas just as before and it will not be lit up if there is no connection. I was on the road to a rural area the other day and I noticed I was at 1x. Next time I drive that way I will take a screen shot for y'all
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...