1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Exchange ActiveSync constantly asking me to change my password

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SDscorch, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. SDscorch

    SDscorch Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    EAS keeps asking me to provide my current pwd and change it to a new pwd

    ??




    i have three gmail accts i want to monitor

    two actual "@gmail.com" accts and one google apps acct


    i've got the two gmail accts in the stock gmail app

    i wanted to use the exchange client for my google apps



    but after i configured the EAS client, i keep getting prompted for passwords!

    any ideas??
     

    Advertisement

  2. treborcj

    treborcj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    646
    33
    68
    What are you using for the exchange server?
     
  3. SDscorch

    SDscorch Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    google

    are you familiar w/ "google apps"? used to be "google for your domain"?
     
  4. treborcj

    treborcj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    646
    33
    68
  5. mlampard

    mlampard Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I am having this exact problem with my HTC Desire (Android 2.1) when connecting to my Google Apps account using the Exchange Activesync mail connector.

    Did you find a resolution to this problem yet?

    I had this working without security prior to changing my policy regarding mobile device provisioning, but can't risk my data in the event of a lost phone.

    The built in security mechanism for the phone (dots and patterns) is stupid, and I would prefer to use a simple PIN or password.

    I hope somebody has solved this and can help.


    Mark



     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Download "lockpicker" from the market. Problem solved.
     
  7. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    The app that goes by that name in the market is a game. You sure you have the name right?

    EDIT: Never mind. I see it is requires 2.1

    Anybody know how to bypass/pick the Touchdown PIN?
     
  8. dmystic1

    dmystic1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    63
    9
    16
    I am using the latest leak of 2.1. That app did not make a difference. Like the other person stated exchange works fine with standard gmail accounts, but google apps email (your own domain) continues to ask you to change password. Also noted that if you attempt to change password, then you get an error that passwords does not match. I am beginning to think that we have to upgrade our accounts to google apps premier in order to have the feature to disable the password change policy for exchange. I know you can use IMAP, but for me the delay is up to two minutes.
     
  9. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    For those of you using the built-in Exchange client on 2.1:

    Is there now a way to turn an email into a task that gets pushed back to the server? TD has that, but I'm hoping that Exchange in 2.1 supports it now...

    Thanks,
    Eph
     
  10. dmystic1

    dmystic1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    63
    9
    16
    Not ignoring you, but I can't get my exchange working to find out. :(
     
  11. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    So, I just upgraded with the official release, and I can't get the native Exchange to work, either. It is failing to authenticate ("check username or password", which I know are correct).

    Sucks...
     
  12. dmystic1

    dmystic1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    63
    9
    16
    By the way, does your exchange have to do with gmail, Google apps, or some other exchange setup?
     
  13. cephraim

    cephraim Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    169
    3
    36
    I am talking about the Microsoft Exchange Server for Outlook (to allow me to connect to work email). Has nothing to do with google.
     
  14. dmystic1

    dmystic1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    63
    9
    16
    I see, because this thread is started by someone who is trying to set up google emails via exchange specifically google apps email. So maybe we can have a thread dedicated to finding an answer for this problem and a separate thread for all other exchange accounts? But I suspect maybe your work might be able to give you specific settings for your account.

    O and Exchange for Outlook is for the Outlook desktop client on your computer. (FYI):)
     
  15. dmystic1

    dmystic1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    63
    9
    16
    Well here is a work around. Use the stock android email app for exchange. I guess it is a Sense issue. The HTC mail widget will not work with this, and neither will calendar sync (I think you might need the stock calendar apk for this to work.) There is an option to sync contacts, but I have not tried. I just disabled sync of email thru GMAIL and use Sense for calendar and contact sync only. Here is the apk http://rhedgehog.com/apk/email.apk You can just point your phone browser to it and it will download and ask if you want to install. I think you also have to have the checkmark selected to allow non market android apps to be installed in your applications settings on your phone. And note: I am just dealing with google apps emails, so this might not be a solution for some of the problems you other guys are having. If you want the updated icon from the nexus one, then let this apk http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6142956/android/Email.apk overwrite the first. For some reason I had to have the first apk installed first.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...