1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Exchange server woes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmorse, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    Grr. Why is it I always have a problem getting email to download when I add a new exchange account? I use the same settings every time. It only seems to stick maybe 10% of the time.

    Otherwise I'm lovin' the new phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Meanee

    Meanee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    6
    3
    6
    Worked right away from me.

    Try unchecking (temporarily) SSL certificate
     
    ceabbott2, marctronixx and jmorse like this.
  3. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    No dice. I'm beyond frustrated.
     
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,878
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,878
    3,619
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    worked right away for me also. IT gets full support (remote wipe, etc etc)

    love the new layout! running 2003 SP2
     
    jmorse likes this.
  5. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    This is so stupid. So after deleting and reinstalling at least 8 times and changing from 3g to 4g to wifi and any combination of the 3 finally it's grabbing stuff off the server.

    It might be weird setting by our 'crack' IT team... by 'crack' I mean largely clueless.

    EDIT: (#@)@(#... The counter in the top left corner counted through all the email as if it was downloading, but none ever showed up. Maybe I just have a bad phone.
     
  6. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    Can anyone answer me this...does the new mail app notify on emails that are delivered to subfolders? I have some exchange rules setup to sort my mail into folders but never get notified that they have arrived unless I manually go into the subfolder and force a refresh. To get around it, I made all of my important rules set to run only on my PC so when I close outlook on my work PC all of my email goes into my inbox. Then when I fire outlook back up the mail gets sorted again. A little annoying.
     
  7. aaron3315

    aaron3315 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    74
    40
    23
    Jacksonville, FL

    I will test this out for you in the morning. Exchange has been wonderfully easy on this phone.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,878
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,878
    3,619
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    go to "all messages" and then check one of the messages, hit the menu soft button at the bottom and then select "mark all read" or "delete".. what ever you want to do. i had the same thing happen..



     
  9. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    Thanks Aaron...i'm patiently awaiting your results :D
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,878
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,878
    3,619
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    you can sync individual folders also so its a good sign your rules will work.
     
  11. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    I had zero issues setting up the exchange. Sorry you are having problems, but I would guess it's your 'crack' IT's setup.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  12. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    I can see all the folders so I know it's talking to the server. Sprint support had me dl touchdown, which is working for the time being. Support says they should have a patch for bad certificates soon.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  13. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    I'm am the "Crack IT" guy :) The problem was with the old email app (at least on non-sense ROMs)...I can see all of my subfolders but they don't automatically sync. I had to go into each subfolder individually and do a refresh to pull in mail. My Inbox syncs fine...subfolders in the Inbox don't.

    I do not have an E3D yet...so I was just asking if this worked appropriately in the Sense 3.0 mail app. Thanks guys :)

    Also, Downloading TouchDown (IMO) is not a valid option since it costs $$$ for a function the phone should have.
     
  14. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    I was responding to JMorse, sorry for the confusion.
     
  15. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
  16. spyder40

    spyder40 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    124
    31
    43

    Remote wipe via Exchange 2003 on the 3D?
     
  17. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,878
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,878
    3,619
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    yes. i had it on the evo and i have it on the xoom.
     
    falconey likes this.
  18. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    I did not know about this feature. Good stuff! Followed the simple instructions from microsoft and I can now wipe my phone from my outlook web app. I'm using outlook 2010.

    Perform a Remote Wipe on a Mobile Phone: Exchange 2010 SP1 Help
     

    Attached Files:

    marctronixx likes this.
  19. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    I explained to the tech support guy that I wasn't paying 20 bucks for an app which I really don't like to do what the phone should do to start with. His reply was 'Well, it should at least get you far enough along that our patch will fix things.'
     
  20. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    20 bucks?!?! I would have gone ape shizzle!
     
  21. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    You get a 30 day trial version for free. On day 27 or so I'm gonna raise a big stink if this isn't fixed.
     
  22. momoceio

    momoceio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    1,235
    149
    163
    Sr. Systems Administrator
    St. Louis
    I'd help you out if I was the IT guy there...lol
     
  23. jmorse

    jmorse Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    90
    12
    18
    If anyone knows a good it guy in the LA county area I'd be happy to hear about it. Recently I got told by the head guy "I don't appreciate you calling me on a Saturday." I was dumbfounded. Guess what pal. I didn't appreciate HAVING to call you on a Saturday either.
     
  24. chspyder

    chspyder Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    6
    1
    6
    Ok I have only found one thread about anything related to this, but it was for yahoo mail.

    Here is whats wrong, I have exchange 2003 and I have used the evo 4g since last July no problems period. I upgraded to the 3d things synced perfect. The software update to 1.13.651.7 came out and exchange stopped syncing email, I can not refresh to get new emails, or anything. I have set the times to get mail (fetch 30 and tried push) all failed. But I can send a email as soon as I hit send... now here is the weirder part it will sync but it happens some random time, and only syncs old emails (4hrs or more old)

    I am so stumped, I hard reset, resetup exchange synced, all came over then nothing after that. I am willing to go back to pre OTA update 1.13.651.7 I just need my exchange.

    And the third party exchange apps I am not real happy with, so any ideas?

    Thanks For ANY Ideas.

    Spyder
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    How are your settings under Accounts & sync for Exchange ActiveSync?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...