1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Exiting active applications

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kyrax12, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. kyrax12

    kyrax12 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Should I continuously do this? Would I still received notifications?


    I heard that exiting too much would cause havoc in some of the apps or something.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    Android phones have effective inbuilt task/ apps managers so normally just closing the app exits them unless the app has a specific exit button. For facebook etc you just need to close the app : no need to log off.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  3. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    if you use the back key to exit an app and return home, you will close the app. if you are in an app and you hit the home key the app will continue to run in the background until android decides it needs the resources elsewhere and shuts it down for you.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  4. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,309
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,309
    3,837
    1,123
    Do yourself a favor and push all thoughts about needing to exist or close apps out of your mind!

    Just let android take care of it.

    Hit the.. Home button... And enjoy the phone
     
    Crashdamage likes this.
  5. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,524
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,524
    1,788
    423
    While I want to agree with that because it makes perfect sense, I sometimes get the memory overload notification and resort to using the Exit All widget on SystemPanelLite; then all is well. I probably get the notification because I have too many apps loaded on this childlike Optimus.
     
  6. Logan47

    Logan47 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    306
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    306
    75
    73
    Geocache
    Apps get cached for speedier recall as android is very good at resource management. Generally, empty ram is wasted ram in this OS. Occasionally you may need to force close if your phone feels sluggish but this is more the fault of a poor app than android.
     
  7. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    It all depends on the phone and it's hardware capabilities too. that back button saved me a world of hurt during my two years with an eris and it's just second nature now.
     
  8. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    Back button has no role on Desire HD :) Home button all the way.
     
  9. mrodgers

    mrodgers Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    30
    2
    16
    Some of my current apps running....

    iHeart Radio
    Voice Search
    Uno
    Email
    Alarm
    Maps
    Facebook
    Twitter

    My problem is, other than iHeart Radio, I have never opened or used any of these apps. They access the internet on my limited pay-as-you-go data. I have no idea what Voice Search is, I don't have any email setup other than the Gmail app, I have no alarms set, and I have nor do I want either a Facebook or a Twitter page. Why on earth does the game Uno need to be running? Maps is the 4th largest usage of data in the list according to "My Data Manager" that I track data usage with.

    I've opened Maps once on wifi to look up my brother-in-law's new appartment location. It is currently telling me my location which is accurate. I don't care, I know I am at work. I don't want it running, nor do I want it accessing the data network to locate where I am, but I see nowhere I can turn it off other than turning off all data.

    I don't have nor will I probably every want a Facebook or Twitter account, but it has to be constantly running and I can't stop it. It is unnecessary for it to be running at all.

    Why on earth does Uno need to be able to start quickly? I have no idea, it is a stock game that I won't ever play but can't get rid of.

    Not just my limited data, but Maps is at 20% of the battery usage. I can't turn it off. I have to carry my charging plug to work with me to get through an 8 hour day. I barely play around with the phone, most of the time it is idle, except for Maps of course which seems to always wanting to let me know I'm at work.
     
  10. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    i don't know if this will work, but it's worth a shot. open settings>location & security settings and make sure google location services is unchecked. then in settings>accounts, see if facebook is listed. if it is click on it and you should be given the option to remove account. try this and report back.
     
  11. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,309
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,309
    3,837
    1,123

    there are apps that monitor data usage.. and block usage set by you.
    do a quick search in the market.

    i am unlimited.. so have no interest in them. ;)
     
  12. Goreygirl

    Goreygirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    631
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    631
    114
    103
    Female
    Occupational Health Advisor
    Kildare, Ireland
    These are usually stock apps that come with the phone and tie into the basic OS. Apps like OS monitor will show you they are barely active however you do need to ensure you have autosync (via main settings menu usually in accounts & synch)turned off for them otherwise they periodically check with the server for updates which will use data.

    Locations uses GPS so turn that off unless you need it for navigating.
     
  13. truewrong

    truewrong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I just recently got an android and I have the same question. Whenever I hit the back button from the Web and from Messaging, they are still on as Active Applications. Should I exit it? I have been continuously exiting them for the past two days, but will this do damage to my phone? And will it eventually exit itself if I don't exit it manually?
     
  14. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,309
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,309
    3,837
    1,123
    see post #4 above
    :rolleyes:
     
  15. truewrong

    truewrong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Lol, yeah I saw that before posting, but I was also wondering if it would drain the battery since the application is still active? Because when I put my phone on standby for a long time and turn it back on, it's still active.
     
  16. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    Those are system apps that need to be running. They won't have any noticeable effect on battery.
     
  17. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,309
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,309
    3,837
    1,123
    there are a lot of apps in the background... and if there is nothing for them to do (update data, location, etc).. it has NO (ZERO) drain on any resources.
     
  18. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Odd, have never seen this "memory overload" notification. What is reporting this? Sounds like some 3rd party app? If so remove that app...it's just trying to give a false alarm and generate some revenue..
     
  19. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    If you have 512 MB of RAM or more, I wouldn't worry about exiting applications. Unused RAM is wasted RAM, and when Android is running low on available RAM for foreground tasks, it'll automatically kill the cached non-running apps to free up RAM.

    My first Android phone had 192 MB of RAM, and I constantly pressed the back button to exit out of applications, just so I could go back to my home screen without waiting three seconds for it to redraw itself. With 192 MB of RAM, what happens is the RAM gets low so often that Android kills the home launcher to free up RAM for the foreground app.

    If you have 512 MB of more, you're fine.

    My phone now has 768 MB of RAM, and I've never had to kill an app or exit it to free up more RAM.
     
  20. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,524
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,524
    1,788
    423
    Oops, it actually says “low on space,” and I think it’s android talking. Tapping leads me to settings>manage apps.
     
  21. mrodgers

    mrodgers Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012

    Jan 2, 2012
    30
    2
    16
     
  22. mamawm

    mamawm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    204
    48
    63
    there a few things that you can do when this happens. first off, delete any old texts, clear call (dialer) history, and go into manage apps and go though the apps one at a time and clear data/cache. just be careful when clearing data, whether or not you will want to clear that depends on which app you are looking at. you'll be surprised at how much space you suddenly have back.
     
  23. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,524
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,524
    1,788
    423
    Yup, when I get it, I usually run History Eraser and uninstall apps I don’t use much. That gets me under 50% of memory used, measured after Kill All has run.
     

Share This Page

Loading...