1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Extended battery cover

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mikefla, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    Hey guys I bought a extended battery and cover for my eris off ebay...Well the new cover did not have the wide camera hole in it like the factory one does, and when i turned my bar code scanner on it fried my camera. So now im looking for a extended battery cover for it that has the same type of camera eye as the factory one any help? I just got my new Eris in the mail yesterday under warranty dont want to mess this one up lol thanks Mike
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

  3. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    I havent Frisco, but if you look at that camera window its not nearly the size as the factory one.. that is actually the same size window as the one i have.. but like i said when i put that cover on my phone and turned on my bar code scanner my camera got red lines all over it and then the camera had like 4 diffrent windows in it in puzzle form.. kinda werid i asked a guy at the verizon store he said that the wide window is for the laser in the bar code scanner?
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I just looked closer at that, mike; by golly you're right. It appears the 3500 battery cover is not well designed for the Eris camera.

    I would not use the scanner with that blockage; it seems you're risking damage each time you do that.

    I'm sorry I could not help with that, but I'll do some searching around the 'net; perhaps there is a better one out there. If so, I'll post a link here.
     
    mikefla likes this.
  5. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    thank you im also looking no luck yet i just really need the bigger battery or i wouldnt bother... thanks again for helping
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Poppycock. I use the 3500 cover and my camera works perfectly fine. The hole is the exact same size (or at least very, very close) to the stock one.

    Unless he has a defective cover (or I'm reading the thread wrong), I think there is a bigger problem at hand.

    [​IMG]
    Side by side comparison
     
  7. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    Exactly, the only difference is theres a plastic thing on the outside of the stock cover. Either way, i dont see any possible way of frying your camera due to a cover. The camera would function perfectly fine even if you put your finger over the bare lens. It would just take a picture of your finger.
     
  8. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    what im getting at is the glass ring around the factory cover? it was just wierd i changed covers turned on the bar code scanner and boom the camera went crazy?
     
  9. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    anyone got these covers using the barcode scanner?
     
  10. eddieg

    eddieg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    I dont think the cover is your problem they look the same to me. Maybe its the bar code scanner.
     
  11. eddieg

    eddieg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    I think the glass ring is just for looks.
     
  12. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Yeah, my barcode scanner still works.

    Just using the plain ol' Barcode Scanner app.
     
  13. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    hhmm ok im just little nervous about messing up another phone but maybe ill will give it a go tomm
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    :D That and "balderdash" always bring a smile to my face.

    Anyway, the structure around the outside face of the stock battery cover had us fooled (the OP and me) into thinking the actual cut opening is larger than on the 3500mah battery cover.

    To add false credence to that, he reports a barcode scanner problem with the fat battery cover but not with the stock battery cover (presumably).

    Mike, sorry if I inadvertently misled you; those pix had me fooled too. But it does appear that you are fine with the fat battery cover you have and you may need to download and try out either another scanner or perhaps just delete then re-install the one you're using.

    Good luck and please post to let us know how things work out.
     
  15. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    ok tks will do
     
  16. snorander

    snorander Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    65
    3
    16
    Just out of curiosity, what kind of life do you get out of the extended battery? I get about 24 hours out of the stock battery.

    Thanks,

    Steve
     
  17. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    well i use my navagatoion alot at work so the gps will kill my battery if i have gps on and wifi on my battery is dead in 3 hours. The extended usally last me around 5 or 6 hours
     
  18. byteware

    byteware Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,140
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    2,140
    210
    143
    Application Developer
    Alabama
    If I'm not using GPS, then I can generally get about 2 days out of the extended battery.
     
  19. snorander

    snorander Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    65
    3
    16
    Cool, thanks!
     
  20. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I read your thread, and said "Poppycock!" out loud. It just sort of came out nowhere.

    And my extended battery can generally last 2 days with with relatively heavy use.

    I took it on a bus trip to New York. With some relatively conservative use and putting it in Airplane mode, I used it for near 24 hours straight listening to podcasts before the phone shut off.
     
  21. mikefla

    mikefla Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    85
    3
    16
    lineman
    Florida
    well guys i put the cover back on my new phone and downloaded the bar code scanner and it works fine.. I guess it must had just been right timing when my camera took a poop on my old phone i dunno?? lol but anyways so far its working just fine..... man what a headache for nothing lol thanks everyone
     

Share This Page

Loading...