1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Extending the length of a ringtone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Theophilus, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. Theophilus

    Theophilus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Teacher
    Wales UK
    Hi everyone, I have a T-Mobile G2 and I have managed to change my ringtone to a tune of my liking but am finding it difficult to answer calls quick enough because my ringtone doesn't seem to last long enough. :mad:

    On my N97 and Vario it gives a lot more chance to answer.

    Is there any way of extending the length of the ringtone please ?
    Has anyone else had this problem ? :thinking:

    Would be grateful for any help ... Thx in advance .. ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. alinver

    alinver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    281
    13
    58
    writer/traveller
    Edinburgh Scotland
    I was going to start a new thread with the same question. Is there anyway of either turning off voicemail or extending the ring time?

    I keep missing calls because my phone keeps going to voicemail, I've tested it myself and even though it rings half a dozen times on the incoming phone it only rings once or max twice on the Hero.

    Thanks in advance
    Al
     
  3. trick202

    trick202 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    949
    49
    88
    Designer
    UK
    It's more an issue of the ringer not chiming in quickly enough I believe.

    It you call your phone from another and watch it, the calling phone will register ringing before the tone is started on the receiving device.

    Was an issue dealt with a while back - but I can't remember how, sorry. Try searching around a bit for delayed ringtone.
     
  4. mjcook1984

    mjcook1984 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    28
    4
    16
    CAD Tech
    Warrington (Northwest) UK
    theres was a thread a while agp about this and how to extend the ring time b4 voicemail kicked in. i did it on my hero/g2 and it worked a treat the t-mobile ring time is set to 15 seconds

    first of all put *#61# in the dial pad

    this will then bring up a number and how long ur ring time is write down the number ul need it later

    then

    type into the dial pad

    **61*(put the number you written down before here e.g. 07923874658)*11*(how long u want it to ring for before voicemail e.g. 30 for 30 seconds)#

    so it should look like this **61*07923874658*11*30#

    once done this should change ur ring before voice mail time.

    type in *#61# again to make sure its changed also at the end of each code u will need to press the call key.

    hope this helps. i know it works for t-mobile as thats who im with
     
    Penfold1, Heroine and shimian like this.
  5. alinver

    alinver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    281
    13
    58
    writer/traveller
    Edinburgh Scotland
    Thanks very much, works a treat.

    Cheers Al
     
  6. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    I tried this, but when I typed *#61# I got a message saying 'MMI COde Started' then a box displaying information about call forwarding.

    I am on G2 with T-Mobile aswell
     
  7. mjcook1984

    mjcook1984 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    28
    4
    16
    CAD Tech
    Warrington (Northwest) UK

    yep thats what its ment to do it should give u a number and how long ur phone rings b4 it goes to voice mail. u need to put that number in the next code as i originaly posted
     
  8. Theophilus

    Theophilus Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Teacher
    Wales UK
    Ahhh worked a treat .... thanks again
    ... the amount of times I have dived for my phone only to miss the call JUST as I press the answer button !!!! ....

    Thanks for digging up the archive and posting details ... much appreciated ..

    :D:D Theo
     
  9. Chappie

    Chappie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #672
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    142
    6
    36
    Process Operator
    I know this is an old thread but mine didnt show up any number just said code active ?

    Its ok it worked the second time missed a # off the end
     
  10. mjcook1984

    mjcook1984 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    28
    4
    16
    CAD Tech
    Warrington (Northwest) UK
    when you put in *#61# it will come up with MMI code started then a sec later a box should open

    saying

    call forwarding
    voice: (your voice mail number) after (how long it rings for b4 voice mail)

    write down ur number then use the code in original post

    i dont understand y its not work. i would of thought it would work on any hero

    its worked for me on all the 1.5 modaco roms and even the 2.1 rom im runing now
     
  11. shimian

    shimian Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    2
    6
    Portsmouth, UK
    Just tried the above steps myself, and it worked a treat.
    Changed from the default of 20 seconds before voicemail, to 30 seconds...

    Many Thanks.
     
  12. cursedvagrant

    cursedvagrant Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Nottingham
    Brilliant! Just what I've been looking for.
     
  13. Chappie

    Chappie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #672
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    142
    6
    36
    Process Operator
    MjCook1984

    Sorted it how ever my voice mail number was +44 which I replaced with zero as it wouldn't let me put +44 in. Anyway its working at 30 seconds much better thanks for your help.
     
  14. leecavturbo

    leecavturbo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    can this be applied to make mp3 notifications for sms play longer
    currently only 3-4 secs :mad:
     
  15. dspu

    dspu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Thank you! Works on San Francisco as well. For Vodafone you'll need to put in the full voicemail number (it's the same for ALL UK vodafone customers now): +447836 121 121 (including the + symbol) :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...