1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Extension numbers

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thewireguys, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. thewireguys

    thewireguys Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    With my BB I was able to store peoples extension numbers with the phone number. When I called the number it would pause for 3 sec then input the ext number automatically. When I try to do this with my EVO (number stored like this 555-555-5555 X1234) the call will not go though. Is there any way to get this working with Andriod?



    Also am I missing something or is there no way to store peoples websites under there usernames like you could with BB.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    You'll probably have to experiment to get the timing right but...

    Go to the edit contact and tap the number so it brings up the number pad. After the phone number hit the "p" button on the number pad. That's the "Pause". IIRC each "p" is a 2 second pause. Also rumored that a comma will do the same thing.

    The "w" is a wait command. If you use it instead, it will "wait" until you hit a keystroke and start dialing the next string you have programmed after the number.

    *Edit, as for websites, that's something you could put under "Notes" but that's really the only option.
     
    thewireguys likes this.
  3. steelersmb

    steelersmb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    303
    14
    38
  4. Wadester

    Wadester Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    249
    21
    38
    Internal Support Engineer
    Columbus, Ohio
    I added commas after the main number which delay about 3 seconds each and that works for me.
     
  5. jbraun605

    jbraun605 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Does anybody know how to do this on a mass scale with thousands of contacts with extensions? Via a sync hopefully.
     
  6. urkeytowealth

    urkeytowealth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    This is not true. You can't even add letters to the contacts numbers!!!
     
  7. jamesdean

    jamesdean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    633
    80
    78
    I guess that's why they put the W & P right up there on the top right of the keyboard when editing a contact number, so you can't use them.
     
    ScorpDX likes this.
  8. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Perhaps learn how to work your phone before posting something like that! :rolleyes:

    Some people aren't smart enough to actually research their attempt at discrediting a post before posting it!
     
    jamesdean likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...