1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Extremely Frustrated with Restarts - NEED HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by No Hands 55, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. No Hands 55

    No Hands 55 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have my htc evo with cm7 stable 7.1 and since i have rooted which was a long time ago i have experienced random restarts. these usually come when using an app or the phone is hot. if it is hot and restarts its usually stuck in a loop and will continually restart and i have to pull the battery. it does it with basically any app and random amounts of usage and is more frequent at random times to.

    WHAT DO I DO TO STOP THIS! its the only problem i have with being rooted. any suggestions to get rid of this please!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Are you overclocked? Overclocking too much can cause random reboots and restarts.

    Also, what kernel do you use?
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well try and wipe dalvik cache and cache and see if that helps. if not then try these suggestions:
    1.wipe dalvik cache and cache and re-flash the rom
    2.wipe dlavik cache, cache, and data and re-flash the rom
    3.try a different rom
    4.try a stock rom
    5.try and update your radios, if you have not already.
    6.unroot and take it in.

    so basically try wiping the dalvik cache and cache first. and if you are still having issues then work your way down the list of troubleshooting.

    i had this very same issue and i worked my way down this list and ended up having to unroot and take the phone in to get a replacement phone.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  4. No Hands 55

    No Hands 55 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    im not overclocked and ive used the stock cm7 kernel and now using tiamat sbc 4.1 and it happened with both of them. i have a questions about wiping cache. when i go into recovery it just has wipe cache partition. does that wipe both of them? im using clockwork. or where should i wipe the dalvik and cache from? and how do i update radios?
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you have to select advanced and then wipe dalvik cache.
     
  6. No Hands 55

    No Hands 55 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    ok thanks well i wiped dalvik and cache and ill see how it goes and keep trying to go down the list if nothing is working. thanks
     
  7. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    I read on XDA that Tiamat 4.1 was causing some phones to reboot. Dial it back to Tiamat 3.3.7. It's the consensus best AOSP kernel. If you keep having issues, you may have to consider what ocn said. I had the same issue and had to end up taking my phone in to get it replaced.
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    And if you're using clockworkmod as your recovery, there has been stated posts saying that clockworkmod does NOT wipe properly. It would be in your best interests to switch recoveries to either amon ra v2.3 or I highly recommend switching to the newer amon ra style recovery. That way, you can restore clockwork nandroids if need be;)(Only with amon ra style recovery can you restore clockworkmod nandroids, fyi)
     
  9. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    +1 on Amon RA. Haven't tried the "amon ra style recovery" but the regular Amon RA recovery is flawless.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...