1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Extremely new - want to return to default theme on used phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by winnipegk, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    I bought a used phone that had a Theme of some kind installed. I didn't really care at the time but now I would really like to get rid of it because I'm certain it's causing problems with the phone as my friend has the exact same one but without a theme, and has had zero problems.

    I have been googling and searching this forum and reading and I'm totally lost!!! I'm just finding links to articles that go way over my head, because I didn't even install this theme, so I have absolutely no clue how to uninstall.

    Can you help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. genomalice

    genomalice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    5
    6
    Setting- >Applications- >Downloaded

    Find the launcher then click on it and click the "clear defaults
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  3. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    I'm not seeing anything there...just apps that I've downloaded myself.

    Ok I found the Launcher under All. The "clear defaults" button is greyed out and it says "No defaults set"
     
  4. genomalice

    genomalice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    5
    6
    Post a screenshot. Also what model phone is it?
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  5. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Sorry.... HTC Desire HD
     
  6. genomalice

    genomalice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    5
    6
    So the app drawer does NOT look like this pictute?
     

    Attached Files:

    winnipegk likes this.
  7. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    The app drawer looks like that...but I found the Launcher in Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All
     
  8. genomalice

    genomalice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    5
    6
    Is it running sense? Because if its a stock build and you found the launcher not in the downloaded applications list then its the stock launcher which is what the phone comes with
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  9. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    I think you may have lost me...but I want to say it's running Sense...but that could be what I'm thinking of from my Evo that got stolen.

    When I go to Software Information it says HTC Sense version 2.1. Does that make any sense? lol

    Sorry I really hate being so ignorant about this stuff....computers I'm pretty good with - smart phones not so much!
     
  10. genomalice

    genomalice Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    6
    5
    6
    Looks like you are running the default theme from what I can gather. As always you can factory reset the device, which I recommend you do with used phone, to make sure its not running any apps/themes that could hinder your performance and/or security
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  11. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Ok I just did a Factory reset and now it's showing "LeeDroid" on the desktop.

    Does this have something to do with the wonky colors and settings?

    It's definitely not back to factory colors, and the lock screen looks different.

    Minor details but I'd reallly like to just start fresh!

    Ok I found this thread that says I have to flash a RUU ROM which means virtually nothing to me, and when I go to the link, it's extremely confusing!

    http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-...g/278482-how-remove-leedroid-hd-v1-5-0-a.html

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=841207
     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Head to Settings -> About Phone -> Software Info, what does it say your software version is?

    It sounds like your phone is rooted and has a custom ROM installed. I'll quite happily walk you through what you need to do to get you back to stock, it's a relatively painless process, but you'll lose any data associated with your apps.

    Can I move this to the Desire HD Section as it's not a theme issue any more?
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  13. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Yes please move it to where it's most appropriate.

    I have Android Version 2.3.3 and Sense version 2.1

    Software number LeeDroid_HD_V3.3.2_GB

    I hope one of those things is what you needed! lol

    I would be so happy if you could help me out. I just want it back to normal! I'm fine losing data - I didn't really have anything special in there anyway - and I just did a factory reset so I lost it all anyway.

    Thank you!!
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Moved, thanks! :)

    Do you want to completely return to stock, no custom firmware, no root access, or do you want to try an alternative, rooted firmware that will definitely work much better than what is on your phone at the moment? LeeDroid 3.3.2 is quite old.

    You're in a pretty unique position in that you've a rooted phone running a custom ROM and you've had to do nothing for it. For most users, rooting and flashing a new ROM is a pretty big step and it takes a bit of leg work (all of which you've skipped) and if it was me in your position, I'd elect to keep root and try another ROM. The decision is yours, however and I'll get you through it either way but if you're looking at the pros and cons of custom ROMs take a look here: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-all-things-root/400056-rooting-dhd-worth.html#post3106892

    Have a read, let me know what you think.
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  15. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Thanks for the reply! I think I'm ok with it either way. I use this phone for business, so I need the email, calendar, GPS and a few other small apps to run well, and really that's about it.

    I don't think I'd spend a lot of time customizing anything. I just don't have the knowledge or desire to do that....not yet at least.

    Battery life is important though so if I can save battery life one way or another that would be awesome.
     
  16. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    If battery life is important, I'd say you'd be better going down the custom ROM route to be honest, they're tweaked for performance and battery life (amongst other things).

    If you want something close to stock software, I'd recommend ARHD: [ROM] Android Revolution HD
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  17. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    That looks great to me!! Thank you!
     
  18. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Hey, sorry for the delay.

    https://rapidshare.com/files/1152488646/ARHD.zip

    That should contain everything you need (thanks Stublake), all the downloads and instructions. Take a look and see what you think (it might seem a lot, but it's easy and if you let me know when you do it, I can try to be online to assist).

    If there's anything that looks daunting, just ask before you start.
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  19. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Thank you!!

    I haven't been able to find my USB cord...I'm hoping to do this tomorrow during the day (Central time in Canada). It looks fairly straight forward....

    A few things I need clarification on:
    [Don't forget to calibrate your battery once you are happy with your phones setup by installing CurrentWidget and placing your phone on charge once the input reaches 0mA boot into recovery and then advanced and delete battery stats then rboot and allow your phone to fully discharge.]

    and really stupid question....how do I access the SD card to open the files? Both when it's connected to my computer and when it's not?

    Thank you!!
     
  20. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    183
    40
    43
    In this case you don't need to as the option in Recovery will delete the file for you. If you do want to browse your SD card in general though, there are a few expolorers available on the Market that will help. Astro File Manager is a popular explorer. When your phone is plugged into your PC, the SD card should show up as an extra drive.
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  21. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    Hmmm ok...one of the steps is to extract everything to the SD card, and another one is "Select install zip from sdcard then choose zip from sdcard" . how do i do that?
     
  22. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    All of the files in the pack need to be extracted to your sd card.

    Reboot into Recovery

    Then select install from SD card and flash the ROM from there.

    I put together that pack that El Presidente linked you to and wrote the guide. I will be looking when I can to see if I missed this step out and if it is unclear and will edit it for future reference. I adapted the guide from a previous non Sense 3 build of ARHD which required Sense 3 Mods to be flashed so may have removed it in error. My apologies if this is the case.
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  23. winnipegk

    winnipegk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    47
    1
    16
    I think all the steps are there, but looking at them written out I don't know how to do that...it may be more apparent once I'm actually in it and can see what's going on on the phone.

    I'm really unsure when it comes to this stuff, but it seems like I'll have some help when i go through it so thanks guys! I'm hoping I'll have time to do this this afternoon...I just have to get some work done first.
     
  24. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    No worries, I'll be in and out of here most of the night up until midnight GMT.
     
    winnipegk likes this.
  25. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    Sorry, I forgot to give Stu credit for the pack, he was the one who put it together.
     
    winnipegk likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...