1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

exynos vs. tegra 2

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kyokushin723, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. kyokushin723

    kyokushin723 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    android universe
    exynos vs. tegra 2, which is better?
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
  3. cyg

    cyg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    So I assume your conclusion is based on the Smartbench games index results? That is unfortunately flawed since the graphics content there is so light the SGS2 is held back by the 60 FPS vsync limit which the Droid X2 doesn't have. Put some heavier benchmark on there just to see how much better the S2 actually is, like GLBenchmark 2.0:

    GLBenchmark - Phone details comparsion
     
  4. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Incorrect, Exynos has same CPU clocked 200MHz higher with NEON support and the GPU (Mali 400 MP) is quite a bit faster than the Geforce ULP.

    Try some decent GPU benchmarks, GLBenchmark 2, Electopia or Nenamark2.

    Smartbench 2011 sucks, if you believe the smartbench results the Galaxy S (PowerVR SGX540) is faster, so obviously something isnt right with that benchmark.
     
  5. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Well I wouldn't put much stock into benchmarks anyways because the difference rarely does it translate into a real world performance difference. Having said that, the GS2 seems to perform more smoothly with any task as compared to the Tegra2 devices I've seen it compared to.

    Also, you all have to take into account that the DX2 has to push more pixels since its resolution is higher, so you can't really compare their scores directly since they're running at different resolutions.
     
  6. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    The Galaxy S II wouldn't have any issues with higher resolutions, I can run the benchmarks/games with 4xMSAA which actually puts the Galaxy S II at a disadvantage yet it still performs better than Tegra 2, hell it even scores higher with 16xMSAA. :D
     
  7. cyg

    cyg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Ah, yes the 16xMSAA is just gorgeous on the SGS2 and still so smooth. It's a real shame developers don't use AA by default or supply an option to turn it on, it makes such a big difference to the experience. Having to root the phone and install Chainfire3D is ok for power users, but it's enough of a barrier that most people never will do it. Tegra otoh has exactly zero support for MSAA so not even Chainfire can save it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...