1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Face Unlock Disabled?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MidshipAc, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    So I know ICS (and up) comes with face unlock and that isn't an option on our phone. Does any body know why not?I also found face unlock as an app in the Apps section under settings.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    druble81 likes this.
  2. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,957
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,957
    1,484
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    Mine didn't come with that app.
    Boost Mobile,here!

    Sent from my N9100 using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
     
  3. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Amoco, it's not an app you see on the app list.
    Crunchy, I noticed that a while ago too. I always wondered why it didn't work.
     
  4. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    459
    92
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    Why would you want to disable it? So you can pocket dial everybody? You can remove or freeze it.
     
  5. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Disable It? No I wanted to know how we could enable it, if that's possible.
     
  6. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Lol, crunchy, it looks like I'm the only one who understands you, but I have no idea why face unlock is disabled or how to enable it.
     
    MidshipAc likes this.
  7. Golono

    Golono Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    88
    25
    23
    New York City
    I was wondering the same thing myself. I took a look at the Avid and it seems that they have the Face Unlock feature enabled. I e-mailed ZTE support just to see what they would have to say about it. Will post their response (if they do respond).
     
  8. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    459
    92
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    It should already be enabled.
     
  9. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    you're not understanding
     
  10. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    459
    92
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    I'm sorry for misunderstanding, It seems they have removed the feature from the rom but not the actual app it seems to me. Just dl a app off the play store. I read somewhere that it has a bug in it anyway.
     
  11. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    It is enabled. It's just hidden from the user settings. Once I have my rom up and running 100% I will set it up so that its accessible. There may be a reason its hidden though.
     
    MidshipAc likes this.
  12. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    It might be a front camera bug. I know apps that use front camera [Vine Instagram...etc] flip the front camera upside down
     
  13. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    Negative its not that. It seems to work fine its just removed from the settings menu. I've got it to work on my wife's phone. In theory all I need to do is edit the settings.apk and its up and running. Im not getting anymore feed back on my rom, so fixing it will have to wait a few weeks until I have a force of my own
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,908
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,908
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Past experience from other phones...It automatically gets disabled when rooted
     
  15. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    Interesting. Thanks for the info. Like all things though there has to be a way around it.
     
  16. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york
    Its disabled by ZTE, they removed a few apks and files on the sequent but after hours of getting a "face unlock couldnt start" error. i finally got it to run on the sequent. check out my Face Unlock MOD thread and flash the zip. It should work fine you guys even if your on ICS. Once flashed, reboot go to settings and go to the lockscreen option. you should see face unlock as an option to select. I prefer to to stick to the pattern unlock but it was nice to use the face unlock feature a few times. Good luck
     
    jimsmith80 likes this.
  17. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    Awesome. Good to see your still around. Thanks again for your help with the toggles on the og warp
     
  18. chevanlol360

    chevanlol360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    2,828
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    2,828
    2,184
    423
    Male
    tech videos/ Dev'ing
    new york
    I pop in every now and then, lol no problem. Have you attempted to do it with the force yet? I tried porting it to the sequent. Got all the smalis right but got stuck at phonestatusbarservice.smali lol looks so much different from gingerbread I couldn't figure how to implement the codes, I just stopped right there haha.
     
  19. MidshipAc

    MidshipAc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    238
    33
    43
    Male
    Georgia
    Jim did you get the face unlock. Zip above to work on the force?
     
  20. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    Nope. I've had better luck with the stock face lock apk. I can bring up face lock set up now. Once you hit continue after taking the picture it FCs.
     
  21. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    I haven't tried yet. This is the most jacked up version of android I have ever seen. I'm going to try and build a working kernel for the force and maybe pursue building something from source
     
  22. sonicbluemustang

    sonicbluemustang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #220
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    459
    92
    53
    Male
    Tallahassee
    The Facelock app is also in the Galaxy S4 but is not usable either. I officially call it Bloat!
     
    MidshipAc likes this.
  23. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ

    I'm on the same page as you. It will be removed from the next DroidSmith
     
  24. druble81

    druble81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    7
    1
    6

Share This Page

Loading...