1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

facebook alerts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by capuman, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. capuman

    capuman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #477
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    203
    20
    48
    Technical Director of software company with over 1
    Gibraltar (southern spain)
    Hi,

    I've had my Hero just over a month now and yesterday for the first time i received a facebook notification on my Hero.

    Since i have had my phone i've never seen this. I normally get a notification telling me that i have a new email which sometimes is an email from facebook telling me i have a new invite or what ever. But this notification was a facebook specific one, it had an icon of an 'F' (of Facebook).

    Doea anyone know what option needs to be turned on so that you get Facebook notifications on your Hero? I obviously switched something on which is no longer running cause im no longer getting this notifications.

    I have my social network set to update every 12 hours and i dont have any facebook widgets running.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    You dont need the fb widget running but you do need an app (I'm assuming you've already got one since you got the notifications). If you're using the official Facebook app just go to the first page and press the menu button then pick settings. There you can pick how often it checks for updates, what noise it makes and so on.

    If it's a different facebook app you're using it'll probably be pretty similar, just have a hunt through it's settings.
     
  3. dannyhoy

    dannyhoy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    ive pressed settings on the home page but doesnt give me the option i am using the official facebook app
     
  4. mat

    mat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    73
    0
    15
    I'm a student.
    Manchester, UK
    Facebook > Menu Button > Settings

    Make sure it's the up to date version of Facebook for Android.
     
  5. capuman

    capuman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #477
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    203
    20
    48
    Technical Director of software company with over 1
    Gibraltar (southern spain)
    im guessing also that you need to have facebook running for this. I mean if you close it with a task killer..this will stop working right?
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Yeah I would assume so. Just stick it in your ignore list and forget about it :)
     
  7. dannyhoy

    dannyhoy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    hi can anyone help on a similer issue i wasnt getting notifications at all i installed bloo which is fine but now when i look at my contacts they are not linked to facebook anymore and i wont let me link them. is this cos i have installed bloo?

    thnaks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...