1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook app: refresh error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rcourt529, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. rcourt529

    rcourt529 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    Is anyone else getting this error when trying to refresh notifications on facebook:

    Cannot retrieve the notifications. Please try again later. [601/parser error;unexpected '-' at position 57]

    Any kind of resolution for it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. carlz28

    carlz28 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    119
    24
    38
    Chemical Eng. Medical Device Manuf.
    Catasauqua, PA
    It's a Facebook issue, I have the same error from time to time. Usually is fixed/resolved when your "try again later"
     
  3. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    never have that issue with bloo
     
  4. peenapple390

    peenapple390 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    74
    3
    16
    I've been getting the same error message for a few days now.

    On the notifications page I get this: [601/Parser error: unexpeted '-' at position 57.]

    I've been trying for a few days now, i've pulled the battery and everything, not sure whats up with it...
     
  5. TrevorSky

    TrevorSky Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Same for me - can't refresh notifications in stock facebook app, same parser error as posted above.
     
  6. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    try downloading bloo.. and see if it works.. mines is working fine
     
  7. Shilahann

    Shilahann Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Special Education Teacher
    I was having that trouble yesterday. So far today, no error message. I assumed it was a FB problem.
     
  8. Force1stiptopped

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    yea gettin the same problem now dude.. and when i try to logout/log back in, it says my password is incorrect when its clearly not
     
  9. Plakius

    Plakius Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    65
    16
    18
    Los Angeles/NYC
    This is a big issue ... and the reason being is that i should not have to work around on pre installed software .... we can not delete this faulty, less than exciting application so they should be high level urgency to fix this situation ... I've emailed them from the market and i suggest that everyone who is experiencing issue do the same and get this issue escalated and taken care of

    email them!! ..... Android-support@facebook.com
     
  10. rcourt529

    rcourt529 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    I just emailed them. Told em if they can't fix this issue, they suck at life...
     
  11. rcourt529

    rcourt529 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    In case you haven't noticed, the notifications are working again, only took em 2 weeks to get it working again....
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I had a major issue with Bloo last time I tried ti - I'll give it a shot again.

    Unloess, of course, that pre-installed software uses an older API that has been changed by the website, right?

    Nice. Because we know that Android is the *only* platform they develop for. :rolleyes:

    Not mine - I just tried and still am getting nothing. nada. nunca. zilch. zero.

    EDIT: Added the following:

    And then I tried it a second time, just for S***s & Giggles, and voila - it started doing something...and doing something, an all of a sudden they were updated.

    Thanks for this post, I'd probably not have tried for another couple of days....
     
  13. forumwalker

    forumwalker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    i think the problem is because FB just recently changed its notification system by clumping different users into one notification when more than 1 friend has liked/commented on a photo/event/etc.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Actually, you're answering a thread from January - like 7 months ago :p

    no sweat, but just thought you'd want to know....
     
  15. Mr. Yuck

    Mr. Yuck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    34
    1
    36
    Just started happening to me last week. Been getting that error message for over a week now. Have tried everything I can think of without success.
     
  16. Crude

    Crude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    1,152
    129
    143
    Nexusville
    me too.....finding lots of little quirks with 2.2 this week
     
  17. rcourt529

    rcourt529 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    It still happens now and then on my phone, but its short lived...When I posted this(back in January) it had been giving me this error for a couple weeks straight...
     
  18. Mr. Yuck

    Mr. Yuck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    34
    1
    36
    Downloading FB from the market and letting it override the already existing FB app worked!
     

Share This Page

Loading...