1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook for Android 1.3 - battery bug / constant partial wake use

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by royal23, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. royal23

    royal23 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    47
    3
    16
    hi
    installed the new updated 1.3 version of Facebook for Android this morning.
    when i checked my phone just now i noticed battery is lower than it should be.
    a look at the Battery Graph (separate app) shows that it's draining constantly... hmmm

    so i checked the PARTIAL WAKE USE via the Spare Parts app. and voila: the new facebook up stays awake constantly.

    that's despite having any connectivity turned off (via the network connection switch; i only turn on when i need it to save battery).

    guess until they release a bug fix the only way is to uninstall.... ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. beyond

    beyond Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yeah same thing here. Installed the update last night before I went to bed and woke up with a 40% battery loss! I'm certain it is the facebook app as my findings are the same as yours.
     
  3. kingvortex

    kingvortex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    140
    30
    43
    Nottingham, UK
    It also drains my battery an unacceptable amount. It's showing a large Partial Wake usage on my phone as well. I have uninstalled it and gave the reason as 'Defective'.
     
  4. beyond

    beyond Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Is anybody else experiencing this? It's a shame as this update improves things massively. However, perhaps this may be just a thing with our phones? I had a separate issue when I got long partial wake up times for when I get pop-up text messages from handcent. I even made a thread about but didn't get much replies. I still use handcent but no popup texts and it works fine. Haven't checked if it's still the same with newer updates tho.
     
  5. mrlongbeard

    mrlongbeard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    81
    5
    36
    Yep, doing it to me too :mad:

    Ahhh well un-installed update and returned to factory shipped version
     
  6. StoneDeCroze

    StoneDeCroze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    78
    5
    16
    Yup, same here. The graph on JuiceDefender took a small but noticeable downturn after the update. The phone was sat idle for about 3 hours. I've uninstalled the update, and the battery time left in the widget went UP by two hours after only 10 minutes.

    When you compare the functionality of the Android app to the iMoan version, it's depressing. Then add very noticeable dip in runtime to add insult to injury. Yes I did check that refresh was set to never.
     
  7. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    Yep same here,just uninstalled the update.Shame because it looked allot nicer than the old version.:mad:
     
  8. Opium

    Opium Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    24
    2
    36
    Jazz Musician, Final Mix, Sound Design, Video Edit
    JHB, South Africa
    Serious? How disappointing, the new update is great
     
  9. dneill2006

    dneill2006 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    Same here, going to uninstall.
     
  10. metal850

    metal850 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    same issue here, not allowing phone to sleep. Reseting phone to see if that helps, will let you know
     
  11. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    371
    52
    53
    Marlow, Bucks, UK
    Me too - sorry, missed this thread earlier. I've uninstalled the upgrade.
     
  12. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    Uninstalled this morning, waiting for it to be fixed....
     
  13. metal850

    metal850 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Nope, resetting didn
     
  14. jimdriver2

    jimdriver2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    152
    11
    38
    Same thing here, i'm just killing off the Facebook task when i'm not using it though.
     
  15. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    I wonder if 1.3 will still run if you log out when you're not using it? I can't check, I uninstalled ;)
     
  16. SteveH0773

    SteveH0773 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    It's killing my battery too... Uninstalling it now. Shame though, it looked like a decent update!
     
  17. czechplastik

    czechplastik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    343
    42
    63
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Weird, I'm having no problems whatsoever. Perhaps a conflict with something else is causing the problems?
     
  18. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    147
    15
    38
    Northampton
    Yup, deffo a issue on my 2.2 froyo and 1.3 facebook for android. Even if i kill the app, isnt long b4 its running in background again. Uninstalled till it gets fixed, stock app it is for now.
     
  19. KTF

    KTF Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    Just checked mine and its the same. Have rolled back to the original version to see if that makes a difference. Shame as the battery life was much improved after 2.2.
     
  20. bozzer

    bozzer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    39
    6
    16
    I also had some strage problems with mine.
    I added the account and it seemed to just keep adding multiple sets of freinds to my contacts. On Facebook I have around 180 friends but the android app was showing 700 and slowly increasing.
    The actual contacts were not going up because they were linked but something odd was going on. This also hammered my battery.

    I have uninstalled the upgrade and only sync feeds for the widget rather than contacts and it seems to be working now. I hope another update will fix it as it looked more polished.
     
  21. Rogue

    Rogue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    154
    10
    38
    Mine just automatically updated!! argh!
     
  22. peter7769

    peter7769 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #396
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    480
    84
    53
    Male
    Oxford / Great Britain
    Yep, same here, but also has anyone noticed that its added something to the People app??, when i click on that and click menu then view, i have a strange line that reads... com.facebook.auth.login never saw that before the update??

    Pete
     
  23. Ceefax

    Ceefax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    116
    15
    38
    No problem for me with facebook on 2.2, though I am using a custom ROM so perhaps its the Sense causing problems?

    Just to check also, what's the sync frequency you've all set in facebook? I have mine at never so it only syncs when I tell it. Might be worth changing that and see if it effects it.
     
  24. StoneDeCroze

    StoneDeCroze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    78
    5
    16
    Mine was set to never, made no difference.
     
  25. no fit state

    no fit state Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    147
    11
    38
    Milton Keynes
    I've uninstalled the update.

    Yesterday my phone was dead by 2pm with the latest version, today it's still got 17% left at nearly 7pm on the old version
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...