1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Facebook for Android v 1.3.1

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Bswartz95, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    It's available! Let's see what fixes were made!

    Edit:
    It appears that the partial awake problem is fixed. Unfortunately, I don't see any other changes. Notifications still take you to the website, which I cannot understand.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Soufjerzz

    Soufjerzz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    63
    6
    36
    Are the issues we were having earlier fixed?
     
  3. WSFrazier

    WSFrazier Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    36
    2
    16
    Yeah, linking to the website is annoying.
     
  4. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    The battery issue seems to be fixed.
     
  5. ranova

    ranova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    370
    74
    53
    is the multiple clone contacts fixed? I didnt like 10 facebook contacts linked to each of my contacts...
     
  6. Soufjerzz

    Soufjerzz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    63
    6
    36
    No it still syncs mutiple accounts. Uninstall .....AGAIN!
     
  7. ranova

    ranova Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    370
    74
    53
    and tapping Visit profile still doesnt work and brings me to MY profile, effin FAIL
     
  8. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    Last 2 updates, it doesn't appear in my downloads right away. Have to search to find. Eventually shows up.

    I am hoping that with the major update and quick fix today, that someone is actually/actively working on the app.

    I would like to see the Android icon appear on Facebook when making a post - like BB has.

    And yes, the notifications link to web browser is just dumb. On a side note, my app opens to full site browsing, not touch or mobile view, regardless of my Android 2.2 stock browser.

    Sprint HTC EVO 4G.
     
  9. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Same, quite stupid.

    What I have noticed about that is watching the address bar, it appears to go to the touch site, the redirect to the full site? Duuuuuur.
     
  10. harderfaster

    harderfaster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Hey guys, first post, I seem to be having the 'clone contacts' issue that has been described here. Since installing the update and trying to sync contacts the contacts storage memory usage has rocketed to 60mb and in the people>view menu it would appear that I have 19000 Facebook contacts on my phone.

    How do I remove these contacts from my phone memory? Because now I'm getting the 'phone memory full' notification which is pretty irritating, not to mention the fact that the phone memory is actually full... I've tried uninstalling the Facebook for Android update but that doesn't actually remove the contacts it's added to the phone! Any help on this would be much appreciated.
     
  11. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    It's good that the battery problem seems to have been rectified. However, as has been mentioned already, there is a lot more which needs fixing.

    Random question time. Can anybody remember whether vibrate was checked or unchecked by default?
     
  12. tlaloc

    tlaloc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    IT Professional
    Germany
    Well, with 60MB of used space your telephone was still usable (maybe). Since yesterday I've have an unusable telephone because my contact storage is now about 102MB. I wish I hadn't installed this bloody App.:mad: The website was OK...

    I would sure love to know how to trim my contact list without having to nuke it. Wouldn't like to lose my contacts....:(
     
  13. NoShineMM

    NoShineMM Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    128
    10
    38
    Baltimore, MD
    Unchecked.
     
  14. hamstre

    hamstre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    With my DINC I went under accounts & sync and deleted the Facebook account (not HTC's). The refresh icon then appeared in the tray and the phone slowed way down. I kept trying to open my people app and check its progress, but it would hang or need a force close. however, it did its job.

    then, i just re-added my facebook account and opted out of the account syncing.

    I was so relieved, too; i had started to take pictures of my home screens and bracing myself for lots of dragging
     
  15. erin c

    erin c Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Is anyone having trouble locating the facebook for android app in the marketplace? I had uninstalled this app as it was completely messed up when I got my android last week and went to go find it in the market place and it is no longer there...I tried using the barcode for the location in the marketplace to no avail and even tried clicking the link on the bottom of the webpage while using the browser that said "download facebook for your moment" which brings me to an error message that states "the requested item could not be found"

    I found a couple posts on the facebook for android page with the same problem but there were no responses.

    Any help would be wonderful!
     
  16. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    Cheers, mate. :)
     
  17. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    What version of Android are you running? I believe it's only available to 1.6 and higher. I've seen reports of people with 1.5 not being able to access it from the market.
     
  18. zookeeper

    zookeeper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    At least on the HTC Incredible, this seemed to be the case only when Facebook for HTC Sense and the Facebook 1.3.1 app were both set to sync. When I turned off syncing in the Facebook 1.3.1 app and told 1.3.1 to delete Facebook contact info (left Facebook for HTC on), all the duplicate links went away and best I can tell, things are working ok.

    You using an HTC phone with Facebook for HTC Sense?
     
    hotfire likes this.
  19. hotfire

    hotfire Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    How do you tell facebook app not sense facebook to delete contacts?
     
  20. SukDeezNutz

    SukDeezNutz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    95
    16
    18
    Use Bloo 1.5. It has chat too, and its the best I found for notifications.
     

Share This Page

Loading...