1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Facebook for HTC Sense - connection error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lin_albert, May 24, 2010.

  1. lin_albert

    lin_albert Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I have Facebook for HTC Sense setup in my "Accounts & Sync" section. When I hit the SYNC NOW button there, it seems to sync ok.

    However, when I open the PEOPLE program, and select the ONLINE DIRECTORIES and then select FACEBOOK (I assume this is the HTC Sense facebook integration), it says connection error.

    Is there some setting I'm missing somewhere?
     

    Advertisement

  2. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    396
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    I also get this when I try and access my Facebook photos - exactly the same error message.

    I'd be interested to know if anyone else has the same problem, and if there is any fix? :cool:
     
  3. KennethBr

    KennethBr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Copenhagen
  4. Sary

    Sary Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Same problem here, it shows that i have no friends on facebook in my stream friends app and when i click show profile it tells me connection error...Cant anyone help us with our problem!?!?
    Mind you you guys, i didnt have that problem before i was using it and it was great, but yesterday i decided to change the gmail account i was using so i had to factory reset the phone in order to do that, and since then that problem was occurring!! and keep in mind i had NO contacts at all on my gmail account...
    how can we get more people to read this thread :thinking:

    YOU GUYZ OUT THERE WE REALLY NEED YOUR HELP!...
     
  5. Sary

    Sary Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    iam sorry i cant help but i just wanna say that my phone just fixed its self somehow!..all my facebook friends are showing and iam able to see my profile no more connection error! and iam syncing my contacts!...I wish i knew what happnd!
     
  6. Fuzzbutt

    Fuzzbutt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The way I fixed the issue on my phone was as follows:
    1. Go into the Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications
    2. Go into Facebook for HTC and just Facebook and Force Stop, then clear all data
    3. Restart phone

    I'm not sure if that'll fix it for everyone, but it worked for me.
     
  7. jackie_jagger

    jackie_jagger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    72
    0
    15
    I had some issue with my Google Account, had to factory reset, after the reset I am facing the exact same problem !!
    I tried everything here, still no avail, but the Photos app does show my contacts while people app says "you have no friends"
     
  8. SoWhy

    SoWhy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    I have the same problem. Facebook App - works; Friendstream - works; Online Directory (in "people") - "Connection error. :(

    Tried removing and re-adding the account, restarting the phone several times in between as well as stopping both apps and clearing all data and cache. Nothing works...
     
  9. beaverHausen

    beaverHausen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Same here. I'm beginning to think its a facebook problem?
     
  10. daymo77

    daymo77 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    i got that error you lot are having after i tried syncing my phone up with my sisters log in details when i used my i own i couldn't log in to my account at all with the sense app i even created a new account for facebook but to no avail got the service currently unavailable error. But twitter works perfectly
     
  11. jackie_jagger

    jackie_jagger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    72
    0
    15
    It signs me in Friendstream works but just says "you have no friends"
     
  12. Evil_Munki

    Evil_Munki Member
    Rank:
     #1,546
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    I had to Factory Reset my phone to delete my gmail account.

    Now, my Facebook say's I have "No Friends", which means I cannot sync my contacts to FB!!
     
  13. movieboy

    movieboy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    You know what, I'm willing to bet that this is a facebook error. I have also began
    experiencing this issue today. So have some people on diferrent forums I checked too. Before today everything worked perfectly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...