1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook Newfeed on Epic not working?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boo radley, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. boo radley

    boo radley Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Odd -- for about the last 4 days, tapping "News Feed" in the native Facebook widget on the Sprint Epic4G fails to load, and I see the highly informative error:

    an error occured while fetching data [null]

    Anyone else have this issue? I've logged in and out, and refreshed, but still can't load the news feed. Thx!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Seddy

    Seddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    308
    31
    63
    Male
    Package Handler - UPS
    at home...
    I used to have that problem with my Moment and one day it just fixed itself. Luckily I haven't ran into the issue with my Epic yet. *knocks on wood*. Try checking the Market for an update. I can tell you that its not the phone, its FB... it works when it wants to and ither times its stubborn as hell. You've done all the troubleshooting steps so all thats left to do now is wait it out. You can also try to clear the Cache/Data for the FB app in Menu>>Settings>>Applications>>Manage Applications. Then hit Menu and Filter All apps.. Good Luck!
     
    boo radley likes this.
  3. boo radley

    boo radley Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    Yup. I went to the Market, and downloaded Facebook again, which installed v1.3.2 App now works, and has some new features. Wonder why an update notification wasn't pushed?
     
  4. Seddy

    Seddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    308
    31
    63
    Male
    Package Handler - UPS
    at home...
    Who knows... I've found that whenever you download a new app from the market it then prompts for updates for whatever app needs updating. My Moment used to prompt me whenever an update was available. I dont know whats up with the Epic..

    But all in all, im glad I could offer assistance. :)
     
  5. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    yep, same here, ignored it that day and now it's fine. chalking it up to either sprint or facebook server issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...