1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support facebook notifications

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rphman, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. rphman

    rphman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    why do i not get any facebook notifications...on the droid????
     

    Advertisement

  2. bwsmith

    bwsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    97
    7
    16
    You don't get notifications for updates, only messages, Friend requests, and other crap I don't care about.
     
  3. autobahn

    autobahn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Is anyone having a problem with the Facebook Widget on the Droid? Mine stopped updating sometime yesterday. Have even powered the phone off and back on. Also have removed widget and put back on the screen. Have been trying TasKiller. Wonder if I killed a service and if so, how do I restart it?
     
  4. ajm144k

    ajm144k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009

    Jul 17, 2009
    115
    2
    36
    my widget hasnt updated in something around 20 hours. reset the phone a coupe times during that period. also, havent gotten a single notification since I've had the phone (since Nov. 6) and i've had a bunch of differrent posts, tags, and stuff.

    ummm, maybe the http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/15967-dec-11th-droid-update.html will help this? ...please?
     
  5. lg92928

    lg92928 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    stylist
    Wyoming Valley
    mine doesn't update until I refresh the page. hit the menu button when your in there and there's the refresh. it's annoying and I don't like it so I just jump on the browser cause that one updates.
     
  6. autobahn

    autobahn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Did not see Facebook list on the Dec 11 patch list. Was just reading that thread.
     
  7. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Yeah, I liked how on my BlackBerry, if I got a notification from Facebook, it would show up as Facebook specific message in my inbox. I'm sure it's just a clever script to read the actual email that Facebook sends out to you.

    I'm not really too bummed out. I still get the email, and am still notified.
     
  8. autobahn

    autobahn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    I see the refresh button on the Facebook page. How about for the actual widget that lets you flip left/right through the latest posts by your friends.
     
  9. lg92928

    lg92928 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    stylist
    Wyoming Valley

    that one I haven't figured out yet...sorry
     
  10. mxrider821

    mxrider821 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    199
    13
    38
    ya for some reason i dont get any notifications on new stuff with facebook?? my storm 1 and 2 gave me notifications right away and it would let me know if i had a message, friend request, etc...

    can someone help me out?
     
  11. jrappy87

    jrappy87 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    94
    9
    16
    i got one notification. but after that one, nothing at all.
     
  12. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Have you guys noticed the following:

    -Log onto Facebook on your computer. The default homepage is the news feed. This is what shows up on your Facebook for Android.

    -Now, if you click on live feed, and refresh your Facebook app, you get the live feed on your phone.

    Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to help with the actual widget, which still displays the news feed.
     
  13. autobahn

    autobahn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Mine will periodically update, but sometimes it is at least 8 hours or more for it to refresh. Ugh!
     
  14. bwsmith

    bwsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    97
    7
    16
    Has anyone tried one of the other facebook apps?
     
  15. mxrider821

    mxrider821 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    199
    13
    38
    ya but i want the app to let me know when i get comments, messages and other stuff not just updated news feeds
     

Share This Page

Loading...