1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook pic not syncing!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 5Strong, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. 5Strong

    5Strong Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,196
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    66
    4
    16
    For some reason I can not get the profile pictures of my facebook contacts to show as the pic next to the corresponding contact in the contact app. Had it working on my Droid, but the Epic is not cooperating.

    Any trick to this?:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Epicurean

    Epicurean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    438
    54
    53
    Programmer
    Maryland
    I tried the generic syncing with Facebook, but that imports all my Facebook friends into my phone's Contacts - not good - so I turned that off.

    So I found this free app on the market called SyncMyPix. It's a little buggy I think. It didn't automatically link all my friends to my contacts, but it does save the profile pics in a cache folder. Go back into Contacts, edit the pics and point to the one saved in the cache folder.

    It's a little hokey but it works. Has anybody come up with a better solution?
     
  3. CzechPleez

    CzechPleez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    72
    19
    18
    Data Security
    Kansas City
    There were some known bugs with the last version of FB for Android. Of course FB says the latest version fixes known bugs. What I've found is that you have to uninstall the old version of the FB app. Reboot your Epic. Go to Android Market upon rebooting and install the latest version of FB for Android. Then set up all that you wish to sync. Should work after that.
     
    Epicurean likes this.
  4. Epicurean

    Epicurean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    438
    54
    53
    Programmer
    Maryland
    I had no idea that AppBrain wasn't putting in the latest version. Thanks - new version works great!
     

Share This Page

Loading...