1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Facebook taken over your contacts list?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The Hoff, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    I just stumbled on this myself, and it's been bugging me so thought I'd share.

    From the Home screen:

    1. Press Phone.
    2. Press Menu.
    3. Press People.
    4. Press Menu.
    5. Press View.
    6. Untick Facebook (and anything else you don't require).

    Done :)
     

    Advertisement

    Yukimori likes this.
  2. jboze

    jboze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    Too bad that only removes them from the People area and not from the actual "Phone" contact list. This is a bug that hTc really needs to address as far as I'm concerned.
     
  3. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    Certainly helps though :)
     
  4. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    24
    4
    16
    Government
    Germany
    I heard of this issue and will be checking on it tonight when my new Desire HD gets in. From my understanding you can group your contacts so that the FB contacts are in their own group. Now this is if I understand the instructions properly.

    My issue is that most of my FB friends are in the states and I do not contact them outside of FB. I also have about half my friends in Germany which I contact all the time. From what I've seen I can manually connect these accounts from my contacts and FB which would be OK.

    Does this seem like I'm on the right track? I don't want to have all my FB accounts listed in the Contacts list or at least have them seperated in a group....
     
  5. jboze

    jboze Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    That only works for the "People" section of the phone. If you go into your phone's actual call feature from the homepage, you get all or nothing depending on whether you sync your facebook account or not. There's no middle-ground at this point in time.
     
  6. tripmeup

    tripmeup Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    As others have no doubt pointed out elsewhere, why not make the changes for People and then place the people icon/widget on your homepage screen...
    Then to make a call, hit the icon, choose and dial....simples...:D
    Just a different way of doing things....that's waht Android allows...
     
  7. ScarfaceNinja

    ScarfaceNinja Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    It worked for me, I unlinked my FB account from the phone, then relinked it but didnt make it sync. No more FB contacts in 'People' :)
     
  8. Denidoank

    Denidoank Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    I did the same with ScarefaceNinja and it also worked for me...
     
  9. Yukimori

    Yukimori Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    employeed
    Northampton
    thank you for your advise :)
     
  10. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    No problem, glad to be of help. Thanks for the recognition ;)
     
  11. ace5

    ace5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Thanks to man , facebook is my second life
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. cascas

    cascas Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    11
    2
    16
    I also had this issue, figured it out now... you guys are doing it wrong.

    It's a good thing to link your phone contacts to their Facebook profile. You can access so much more content for each contact this way, via the "People" app. Sync your contacts and turn off viewing Facebook in the "People -> Menu -> View" setting. It will suggest linked contacts for you and you can do the rest manually by editing contacts in the "People" app.

    Now set a shortcut to "People" on your home screen. THIS IS YOUR CONTACTS APP. If you did the above right, you should see just your phone contacts, but with their Facebook picture and accounts linked. It will not show the other contacts from Facebook as you have turned those off above.

    The "Phone" app on the homescreen is NOT YOUR CONTACTS. It is your recent call history, and when you have no recent call history, it does populate it with your entire contacts list (and you cannot exclude anything from this like you can with the "People" app). HOWEVER, once you start making calls, the "Phone" app will now be populated with your most recent/favourite contacts.

    This did me take me a little while to get right, and it got me very frustrated, but now that I have it set up correctly I promise you it is an absolutely awesome interface. You just have to get over the fact that "Phone" is recent call history not contacts, and "People" is your contacts app.
     
    Btrivedi and springy like this.
  13. The Hoff

    The Hoff Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    108
    14
    38
    cascas, actually doing as I suggest does still provide you with suggested contacts and the ability to link each contact to those in your phonebook. Obviously for the linked contacts you'll get updated content (facebook status/picture).

    All my OP was doing is changing the view, not removing the functionality entirely.

    Thanks for posting the above in any case.
     
  14. RussWWFC

    RussWWFC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Nice trick but why oh why are we unable to edit the "phone" list. Disgrace that it's so long in and HTC still havn't bothered to sort it
     

Share This Page

Loading...