1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook won't let me delete posts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by robertfbarron, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    Facebook won't let me delete my post. I have had several phones and delete FB post but I just got this Galaxy s3 phone and it won't let me. I swipe to the right or left and nothing appears. I deleted my FB and loaded a new app but still can't.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I've never been able to delete posts on the default Facebook app on any android. only recently has the mobile site started supporting this. Maybe you had a modified HTC or sony version?
     
    robertfbarron likes this.
  3. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    I had the HTC one X. My wife has the HTC Inspire and she can do it too.
     
  4. ceva321

    ceva321 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    LOL relax of course you can.....sometimes it takes about 5 minutes for the DELETE option to appear...see my screenshot below

    red arrow points to the 3 little dots...click on them and you will get the white box options where you can delete

    have a great day :)

    [​IMG]
    Screenshot_2013-02-07-12-31-38 copy by Ceva321, on Flickr
     
    Frisco, JeriS and robertfbarron like this.
  5. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,779
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,779
    3,758
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    I actually advised him of this in the intros but no option available lol :/
     
  6. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    I don't have the three dots. My wife don't on her phone but can swipe to the right and gives her the option to delete but it won't show anything on my new phone.
     
  7. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    ceva321 do you have the three dots on your Galaxy s3 phone in Facebook?
     
  8. Heisenberg123

    Heisenberg123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    703
    74
    78
    Hamilton, ON

    i have the 3 dots, are you trying to delete your posts or others?
     
  9. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
  10. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    What kind of phone do you have? I am thinking about reset on my phone.
     
  11. HighSierra

    HighSierra Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    90
    14
    38
    Male
    Retired Mainframe (IBM) Systems Programmer.
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Just checked on my SIII, and I have the 3 dots on my Facebook posts. That is on my timeline. If I look at my posts in the newsfeed, the 3 dots aren't there. Also it may take some time to disappear from the news feed.
     
    funkylogik, robertfbarron and JeriS like this.
  12. golfinglenn

    golfinglenn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    233
    41
    43
    I just use the browser version of FB, the android app always messes up my newsfeed and throws old posts in there even if it is on newest option.
     
    funkylogik and robertfbarron like this.
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The HTC facebook app is a HTC specific one so thats probably a feature added by them. "facebook for HTC sense"

    I'm constantly upgrading my rom and every time I do, it takes me back a version. Its only on the latest versions these "3 dots" appear. So i updated my rom today and forgot about the 3 dots. Just updated to latest facebook app and theyre there. As mentioned, only on time line though. And only your main post, not any of your comments. You have to go to a browser for that.
     
    funkylogik and robertfbarron like this.
  14. ceva321

    ceva321 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012


    Of course below is a screenshot of my GS3...FB app

    [​IMG]
    Screenshot_2013-02-07-18-46-40 copy by Ceva321, on Flickr
     
    robertfbarron and JeriS like this.
  15. robertfbarron

    robertfbarron Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    12
    0
    35
    I reset my phone and now I have the three dots! I want to thank everyone for all the help. I am new to this forum and I really like it!!!
     
  16. ceva321

    ceva321 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012

    :)

    my motto is when in doubt always reset !!!!

    enjoy your phone man
     
  17. TheGeek

    TheGeek Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    268
    30
    43
    West Chester, PA
    Boo.

    I want them to give us back our ability to delete "our comments" on peoples posts. It was removed some time ago; use to be able to swipe right and delete.
     
  18. S Chonson

    S Chonson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    67
    11
    18
    Hell, I can't even post a status. :(
     
  19. kbrown65

    kbrown65 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013

    Feb 9, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    with my galaxy s3 i just tap and hold on what want to delete. In a couple seconds delete will show up, tap it.
     
  20. JeriS

    JeriS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    40
    7
    16
    Female
    Welcome to the group! I was excited when I read your post but I tried and nothing happened. Who is your carrier?
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Wow thanks man. I had no idea.
    Ive always gone on the mobile web site to delete comments.

    One problem though.
    Usualy when i feel i should delete a comment, i want it deleted YESTERDAY lol

    EDIT d'oh. See below lol V
     
  22. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    D'oh. Wish it was available for comments.
    Alcohol, fb and lack of deletion=trouble lol.
    Yeah the mobile site is best.. pity notifications cant be set to direct you to that instead of the app :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...