1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Factory reset Captivate without USB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Riteheer, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. Riteheer

    Riteheer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    My captivate has quit recognizing any usb plugged in. I have received a replacement from AT&T, but would like to reset the phone to the original factory, and 'unroot' it if possible.
    Ordinarily this might not be a problem, but since it does not recognize any usb, I am at a loss as to how to do it? I thought if I could locate an update.zip that is from the original factory settings, I could transfer this to the phone and use that to do a factory reset?
    OPen to all suggestions....
     

    Advertisement

  2. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    363
    40
    43
    Have you tried dialing this:

    *2767*3855#
     
    EDtheCAPTIVATE likes this.
  3. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    read my sig and you will be fine
     
    RobertBMcNeill likes this.
  4. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #239
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    662
    21
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    I had this same issue a while back and eventually found a way to do it (no one gave me the *2767*3855# option so I don't know if that works or not). If that doesn't work for you, let us know and I'll try to dig through my stuff to see if I can find it. I'm pretty sure I saved it just in case I had the problem again.
     
  5. Riteheer

    Riteheer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I tried that, and it did a factory format, but unfortunately it did not remove 'superuser' which implies to me that it didn't clear everything. I doubt that AT&T will go thru the phone, but just wanted to clear any evidence of root if possible. Any other suggestions?
     
  6. EDtheCAPTIVATE

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012

    Feb 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    i just used this so i could hard reset because my accelerometer wasnt workin
     
  7. timbuk2

    timbuk2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    104
    2
    36
    Oklahoma City
    What will this do exactly? I've upgraded to 2.3 Gingerbread, but now my phone is locked in Landscape mode, I get the tethering error when I connect or disconnect to wifi (sometimes even when I don't) I keep getting a "Car Dock" error which I know nothing about and my computers will not recognize the phone as a USB device. I think I've done a backup once, but don't recall where it went, was thinking it was google. The phone is out of warranty and I'm not going to pay $125 on the insurance when you can get a new one for a penny. ;-) Don't think I want another Captivate either way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...