1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Factory reset didn't downgrade back to 2.3.3 from 2.3.6

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sueling, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    Hi, I'm new to Android and I really need some help because I don't know what to do anymore.

    My SGS2 is a GT-I9100G and I updated Gingerbread from 2.3.3 to 2.3.6 thinking that this would solve some freezing and crashing problem I was having with the phone. Let me say that during this time, my battery (with the use of JD Ultimate) was working beautifully enough for me at least with 30+ hours on battery with moderate use.

    Lately I noticed that my battery has been draining very quickly (down to 75% in under 4 hours) and I know this topic has been beaten to death so I did some research in solving it before posting a question here.

    It was during this time that I found out that this 2.3.6 update may not be suitable for my international model of the SGS2 so I decided a factory reset would be my best option. I did check "wake locks" through Better Battery Saver but didn't really see anything that was causing the problem. Something was continuously using the battery for sure, but being "Android OS" at 58% constantly, I really have no idea what. I did come across several articles on downgrading to 2.3.3 manually but like I mentioned, I'm really new to Android and I just don't understand all the technical jargon.

    I backed up all my stuff and did the factory reset. Maybe it's just me who doesn't know this but Gingerbread remains at 2.3.6! I am shocked and rather upset that I went through all that trouble for nothing. Now I'm at a loss for what to do. As far as rooting the phone goes, I'm not confident enough in my knowledge of Android to go about that.

    Is there a way for me to revert back to 2.3.3? Can you help me please? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yup, "reset" only works with the currently-installed OS. You replaced the original 2.3.3 with 2.3.6, and it can only be restored by flashing the official Samsung 2.3.3 firmware back using Odin.
     
    sueling likes this.
  3. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    Thanks for the reply. Googled Odin so I'll try that. Seems to be a "Master Clear" option and a "download mode" option. Not sure if they're the same or two separate ones.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Odin works with the handset booted into "download mode" by switching it on with HOME+POWER+VOL_DOWN buttons all depressed.
     
  5. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    I did that, all pressed together. When the phone starts up, does it look the same as a regular boot up because that is what I am seeing. Nothing seems different (or at least obviously shows that it's in "download mode"".
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    No, it should boot into a warning that you have to confirm to proceed, and then "download mode" will appear at the top of the screen in (iirc) red.

    You did power the handset down before restarting? Hold HOME and VOL_DN with one hand then, keeping them depressed, press and hold POWER until the handset enters download mode.
     
  7. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    Did as per your instructions. I turned off the phone, pressed the buttons in the accordance you mentioned. The "Samsung Galaxy S2" logo came up (as it would do when normally rebooting) but then nothing. Just black. Nothing happens until I let go, then it boots up normally. :mad:

    OH WAIT it suddenly worked! Okay, will try Odin now.
     
  8. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    It finally went into download mode (yay!) but now when I click "Start" on Odin nothing happens. It keeps repeating this line :

    <OSM> All threads completed. (succeeded 0 / failed 0)

    Now what?
     
  9. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,461
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,461
    5,683
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Just a thought but are you trying to flash Galaxy S2 i9100 firmware on to a Galaxy S2 i9100G phone?
     
  10. sueling

    sueling Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Florida
    Almost. I realized that before going through with it. Like I said, I'm new to this... but learning. Still suffering here with terrible battery. Right now I'm a DZKJ2 but I was just informed that I'm supposed have DZKL3, being that the phone was bought from Malaysia. How am I going to do that? Kies refuses to update my phone too.
     
  11. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    If Kies says you are updated, then you are. The DZKL3 is for i9100 and its 2.3.6

    Don't know about G, but I am guessing you are using the latest.
     
  12. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
  13. mcwong

    mcwong Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    I just updated from DZKJ2 to DZKL3 via Kies. Turn USB debugging off. Make sure you have more than 3gb space on pc hard disk. It took about 30 min (download firmware, extract binary, download to device, etc). After completion just wait a few minute and device will reboot automatically and about 1 minute for lock screen to display. Disconnect USB and its all done. My Internet bandwidth is 5mb, laptop is celeron running vista 32 bit. Also make sure pc Kies is updated before performing the firmware upgrade.
     
  14. mcwong

    mcwong Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    I bought the 9100G with DZKJ2 and just upgraded to DZKL3 via Kies. See my earlier comments. Hope it helps. I did it on a celeron laptop and Internet bandwidth of 5mb.
     

Share This Page

Loading...