1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Factory reset Event, then re-root if needed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daffyducknj, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #131
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    704
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    This may seem like an obvious question to some, but has anyone with a rooted Event factory reset it, and re-rooted it if needed?

    I do seem to be coming across more error messages in the last week, and I figured that resetting it might help. I've had the phone for three months now.
     

    Advertisement

  2. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #131
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    704
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Got around to factory resetting it. Took about 2 hours last night. Had to re-root phone. Used techdad378's method for that. Restored around 50 apps from Titanium Backup, so at least I didn't have to reprogram the passwords for the streaming apps. {Reset system setting from notes instead of just restoring them. <--- That's what most ROM devs would recommend when restoring your device.}

    While this was going on I used my older LG Optimus V as a phone. It's easy to program the ESID through VMUSA's web site. When my Event was reactivated, the PRL and phone profile settings were automatically updated. The firmware was already updated, so nothing happened on that end.

    Doing this freed up about 238 MB of cruft from internal storage! Restoring didn't change the egl fix, so the phone is running on the hardware video drivers, YES!

    If you're interested in unrooting the Event, this is the easiest way to do it. :)

    If you do want to unroot, make a backup using the MyBackup app BEFORE factory resetting. Titanium doesn't work to restore apps in unrooted phones. You might want to backup your SD card, then reformat/repartition it from a PC (using FAT32). Then gradually add your photos and music while restoring... this is why I took a couple of hours, just to make sure most things were working. Resetting isn't something that can be done too quickly, but is worth it if you're getting too many error messages.
     
  3. ek100

    ek100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014

    Jan 24, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Ironically I didn't get root until I reset. I tried the PC based method and the non-PC method. Neither appeared to work. Did a Factory Reset to Start over and found I had root.
     
  4. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #131
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    704
    204
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    When did you get your phone? Got mine in October.

    I've managed to see a few Events in action (with permission) and noticed differences in the included software. The system software seems to be the same, but the bootloaders might be different somehow. Like virtually all Kyocera Android phones AFAIK, the bootloaders are locked.
     
  5. ek100

    ek100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014

    Jan 24, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    I bought mine from Radioshack recently. Ordered about 2 weeks ago. They have it on sale for $20 for Virgin's no contract service. I bought 3. One to play with, the other two to root to remove the phone activation prompt and gift to my nephews as media players/youtube streamers around their home.

    The odd situation I'm in now is that I don't know what worked. Both Methods did not seem to grant root but doing a reset seemed to enable it. Now my next step is to figure out what I need to block so the phone doesn't keep trying to activate phone service on boot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...