1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Factory reset revert to gingerbread?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Trubattleax, Dec 29, 2012.

  1. Trubattleax

    Trubattleax Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I had some problems with my phone so I did a factory reset. when I got the phone a couple weeks ago it came with android icecream sandwich 4.0.4 but now that I did the factory restore for some reason it went back to android gingerbread 2.3.6. Can someone tell me how to update it to icecream sandwich like it was when i bough it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    A factory reset only wipes the data partition, meaning system,em updates would still be in place.

    Are you rooted or on a custom ROM? How did you do the reset? Can you check for any updates again via the About Phone menu or via Kies?
     
  3. Trubattleax

    Trubattleax Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    First id like to say thanks for the quick response. I did root the phone thats why I had problems with the phone I couldnt get passed set up wizzard when the phone restarted. so I did the hold +volume, -volume and power button to get to the factory reset screen it reset and the phone works fine. I tried the update software via phone and it said the phone is up to date I also tried the kies and it said "your device current firmware version is not supported to update firmware via kies"
     
  4. sameerteni

    sameerteni Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013

    Mar 28, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Did you get any solutiuon for this? I am having exactly same problem.
     
  5. spikedzombies

    spikedzombies Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010

    Nov 12, 2010
    17
    0
    35
    Lakewood, WA
    If your gonna reset might as well root it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...