1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Factory reset ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bcltoys, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #309
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    Can a factory reset be done after root.
     

    Advertisement

  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Hi.

    Yes, but as you'll be "resetting" the phone you will lose root.
     
  3. tr11

    tr11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    Does that mean to unroot we can just factory reset and not have to go through the unrooting steps if we need to send our phone in for repair?
     
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    No, that is not correct. A factory reset clears user data and settings, including things like your google login, contacts, and downloaded "market" apps. It does not alter the system software (including preinstalled apps), however. There is no way that it can turn one ROM into a different ROM.

    No. See above - you need to return the phone to the stock system software, recovery boot, and bootloader (in some cases).

    bcltoys - the "factory reset" which occurs on a rooted phone is similar to what happens on a stock phone, in the sense that it clears settings and data back to a blank slate, but it leaves the system software and preinstalled apps untouched - kind of as if you had just installed the same ROM. The other thing which does not happen with a phone that has a custom recovery installed is that the phone activation also does not get cleared.

    HTH,

    eu1
     
    bcltoys likes this.
  5. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #309
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    Well i wanted to do the reset to see if it would bring back my signal bars but it did not I know to look in settings for my rssi but not having the bars is annoying.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Hi bcltoys. Please read ErisUser1's post to you carefully; that's the straight scoop on what needs to be done.

    As far as the signal bars, are you experiencing poor signal with calls, etc, or are you just not seeing bars there even though the phone is working fine? Going through unrooting and then a factory data reset just to avoid an annoyance is a choice you may make, but I would not. ;)

    The signal bar display may or may not improve with a reset, we're seen varying reports on success with that.

    If it's poor call quality (dropped or missed calls, etc) then the reset is still an iffy attempted remedy, but I'd do it in that situation just to be sure.

    Be sure to look at:

    http://androidforums.com/474953-post1.html

    in:

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...ated-links-updated-oct-1-2010-4-44pm-est.html

    and then, once back to stock, go to menu > settings > privacy > factory data reset.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...