1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Failed System Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nomemory, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    Hello,

    I finally made the switch to the straight talk network when walmart had the centura for only $30 on black friday. I like the phone; does everything I need it to but within a week or so of owning it I started getting notifications for system updates. I hit the restart and install button and it takes me to a screen with an android with a glowing orb in its midsection. The status bar makes it about half way then encounters an error and the android is lying down (dead I presume) and then the phone restarts. Now on a weekly basis I get a notification for this same update and every time I try to install it, the same thing happens. I would really like to install it but do not know why it keeps having errors. There is no notification as to what is preventing the update from installing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Welcome to Android Forums nomemory.:)

    I'm sory for your frustrations. I've done some hunting around without finding much for solutions.:(

    A couple of questions: Have you rooted the phone? Have you frozen / disabled any apps?

    Let's start there. Also, you may want to familiarize yourself with this (http://androidforums.com/faqs/697582-backup-routine-us-all.html) in case we need to wipe out your device to get this to go, you can save your apps and data.
     
  3. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    Hey thank you for the fast response.

    I've been hunting left and right online as well and I just cannot find a resolution so I thought I would post it and see if somebody may have encountered this before.

    The phone is stock; I don't plan on rooting as I have an insurance plan on it and as I understand it if I have to return the phone they may charge me if it is rooted.

    I do have some disabled apps but I believe that this started before I disabled them; although I can't say that with 100% certainty. I think I disabled google plus and 1 or 2 others that escape me at this moment.
     
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    OK, no root, good, that eliminates a lot of possibilities. Let focus on the disabled apps, occasionally phones want all of the OEM stuff in tact in order to install OTA's. This sometimes includes bloatware (factory installed apps). I would attempt to unfreeze the apps and try the update again. It it works, you can simply disable them again once you are finished updating.
     
  5. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    and I don't know if this helps, but the update size is 44.2 mb.
     
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Not really, you said this is the first update since you got the phone, si I think you are on 4.04 (Ice Cream Sandwich) and are upgrading to 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean). You can confirm this by viewing your About Phone screen in settings. Some under the hood changes took place so android could support multiple users on some devices. This may be why the disabled apps are preventing the OTA.
     
  7. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    I enabled google plus, chrome and google music and tried to install the update and it failed again. Thank you for the ideas though. Didn't realize that disabled apps may interfere with updates.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  8. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6

    Correct I am on 4.04
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  9. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Often times they don't, sometimes they do. Too bad that didn't work, that was the easiest fix. Let me look around some more. I'm also going to ask some other smart folks to take a look. In the meantime, make sure there are no other disabled apps and give the backup thread a read in case we need to backup your information.
     
  10. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    Hey thank you so much, I do appreciate the help.
     
  11. SectorStar

    SectorStar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014

    Jan 8, 2014
    6
    1
    6
    I was having the same problem with my phone. It was doing this at least twice a week. I finally just backed everything up, reset my phone to factory settings. It did a system update once after the reformat and I haven't had the problem since.

    For what its worth, the time changing itself problem that seems to be a common problem with this particular phone quit doing that as well after the reformat. I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it, or if I'm just lucky, but I was having the problem as well at least once a week and haven't since I reformatted, about 3 weeks ago now.
     
    nomemory likes this.
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Hi nomemory, sorry you haven't heard from me. I'm trying to get some info. Can you try this for me.

    - Turn phone off hold volume up button and press power button. Release power button after one second.
    That should boot you into recovery. Once there, see if there is an option to clear cache. This will wipe system and app temporary storage files. Let's see if this kickstarts the OTA.
     
    nomemory likes this.
  13. nomemory

    nomemory Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014

    Feb 9, 2014
    7
    2
    6
    Unforgiven-

    Hey thank you so much for coming up with ideas for me to try and for really taking the time. That speaks volumes for you and the forum. I eventually tried what sectorstar suggested and it worked. I followed the backup guide you provided and just reset to factory defaults; then before updating or installing anything I checked for system updates and saw that it was downloading an update. I let that download and then installed it and it installed without issue; so thank you guys, I do appreciate all the help.
     
  14. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,019
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    36,019
    41,616
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    :party:

    Glad you are up and running:thumb:
     

Share This Page

Loading...