1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Failed to update software network or server error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thahim, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    I just tried to update and I got this message? Has any new update rolled out after 4.2.2 if so how can I get it? I dont know how to use pc kies. Need support.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    If there is no update available OTA for your phone, then you will not get it. You can install KIES, but still, 4.2.2 is the latest firmware, so you might not get anythhing. What did you want to get?
     
  3. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    I updated my phone it was 349 mb and ia still 4.2.2 I cant find anything new yet except keyboard vibration seems little different.
     
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Because there is no newer Android than 4.2.2. You have the newest version, so what do you expect? There might be bugfix updates, but they will not give you newer Android.
     
    thahim likes this.
  5. zeee

    zeee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013

    Jun 25, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I bought new s4 it was working fine and auto updating it self but yesterday my friend got this new update but I didnt so I tried to update it by going in software update and it said your device is modified and no updates are avaliable...its not rooted or anything....confused need help..!!!
     
  6. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Reboot and try again.

    Go into Settings>More>About device and let us know what it says at the very bottom (SELinux status) and More>About device>Status>Device status.
     
    zeee likes this.
  7. zeee

    zeee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013

    Jun 25, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    SELinux status> permissive
    Device status> custom
    I9500
     
  8. zeee

    zeee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013

    Jun 25, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I have tried everything like removing battery..removing sd card..rebooting ..tried to update it with kies it says your device is not recognisable by pc... its very irritating.....HELP!!
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Where did you get the phone? It seems to be rooted and that is the reason you cannot get OTA.
     
  10. pakilad

    pakilad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    22
    0
    35
    hi all,
    i got my phone update yesterday 349 MB. Now i am facing lag issues, for example when i press Facebook icon it takes about 0.2 sec to open (previously no time). anyone else experiancing it?
    Buging me~!
    Thanks
    Rafaqat
     
  11. zeee

    zeee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013

    Jun 25, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Its a brand new phone and its not rooted, I even checked it with this app called "Root Checker" it says its not rooted I used to get updates all the time it just happend now after the last update I think.
     
  12. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It says custom, which means something has been done with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...