1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Fall data re set with root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stephen2529, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. stephen2529

    stephen2529 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Hi guys

    Quick question, If I do a fall data reset will I loose root and the rom Im on?
    Ive noticed that go launcher is very twitchy lately on my hand set yet on my other halfs its fine. Im hoping the fall reset will fix it but I dont want to loose all my settings. Was hoping I ciould do the reset then use cwm backup to restore everything back to where it was.Dose this sound like it will work or will I have to just bite the bullet and do a reset and start from scratch again?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    A full wipe won't remove root or your rom. It will just delete anything which is saved on the phones memory. Everything that is in usb storage (internal sd) and external sd will also remain on your phone. If you don't want to loose any of you're apps or settings back them up with titanium backup first and then restore them after you have done the wipe.
     
  3. stephen2529

    stephen2529 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Great thanks for that. I thought it might be the case but its always nice to hear it from someone else for a bit of piece of mind lol.
    Out of interest do you think this will fix the problem of juddering with go launcher? Ive cleared other catches in the past and re installed the launcher but nothing seems to shift it. I would normally guess its just the app but like I said my other halfs works fine. Strange.
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Perhaps I should add that if you do a CWM Backup followed by a Factory data reset and then use CWM to Restore everything you will be wasting your time and not solve the problem as you will only be restoring a nandroid (mirror) image of your phone prior to Factory data reset.

    As per Shotgun84's suggestion, it would be more likely to solve your problem by using Titanium Backup.

    I have noticed that some kernels, using some governors and schedulers, can cause a jerkiness in my Launcher Pro App Drawer.

    You could try changing the kernel or the governor/scheduler as this sometimes helps.

    For more information on this, see here:-

    http://androidforums.com/3541544-post365.html

    Hope this helps. :D
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Personally I'm not sure if it will, I guess there's only one way to find out. Some kernels tend to cause lag I'm different launchers so out of curiosity, which kernel are you using?
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Been a long day ironass?:thinking:
     
  7. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    Tell me about it!

    It's been a long couple of weeks for me! :(

    Have amended it old boy... sorry about that!
     
  8. stephen2529

    stephen2529 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Hi
    Thanks for the replys. I did think that cwm might be a waist of time so thanks for confirming that. I've tried a few kernels now with no change. Currently using the latest speed mod.
     
  9. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I've personally never used speedmod so I'm not sure if that has an affect. I just asked as a few of the kernels I've used caused go launcher to lag for me. A couple of things you could try if you haven't already.
    1. Flash the kernel cleaning script (can be found in the root guide sticky in this forum) then reflash speedmod
    2. Flash the kernel cleaning script, then flash siyah 2.3 kernel if you haven't tried that kernel already. I'm running it at the moment and go launcher is nice and smooth.
     
  10. stephen2529

    stephen2529 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Right I've done the above and there is a noticeable improvement. It still had the odd judder but nowhere near as bad as it was. its a lot faster too. Would be nice to get it perfect but I can live with this. Thanks a lot for the help.
     
  11. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    No problem. Happy to.
     
  12. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,941
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,941
    3,672
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    One last thing. Did you reflash speedmod or give siyah a try? If you went for siyah its probably worth downloading voltage control from the market. This will allow you to change the cpu governor which can improve smoothness. There's no real best one to choose as different people will get different results from the same governor, its just a case of giving them a try and finding one which best suits your needs. There is a list of the govenors and their basic features in the sticky thread.
     
  13. stephen2529

    stephen2529 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    yeah I gave siyah a try. Im using the criskelo rom at the moment and rom tool box which has options for cpu settings ect. Been playing around with them and getting good results so far. The only section I havent really touched is the sysctl tweaks as I cant seem to find enough information about what they do. I dont like to play about with stuff before reading up on it first. IF you know of any settings or threads about the tweaks I really like to see them.
    One thing I have noticed so far is the battery life isnt as good now but the speed and smoothness is spot on. Shame but I guess its the price you pay.
     

Share This Page

Loading...