1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General FAO Orange (and probably T-Mobile/Virgin) users: Sense 3.0/OS 2.3.5 OTA update now available

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by notebook, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    For those on Orange branded phones, the Sense 3.0/OS 2.3.5 update is now being rolled out OTA. It's about 231MB in size. Once downloaded, it takes about 15 minutes to install and boot up.

    On completion the new Orange software number is 2.13.61.3 and the Baseband/radio is 20.4801.30.0822U_3822.10.08.04_M, which is the latest stock radio version.

    As Orange, T-Mobile and Virgin are connected by the same company, my guess is that it's being rolled out to all three at the same time, although obviously not the same software version. (Recent reports said that a Virgin/T-Mobile update had been released earlier this week.)

    Menu > Settings > About phone > Software updates > 'Check now' to see if it's available to you.

    Edit: The T-Mobile OTA (UK) is being rolled out, too. (See here.)
     

    Advertisement

    jmp003, pvcprinting and AeronK like this.
  2. flashsam

    flashsam Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    67
    11
    18
    Leeds, UK
    I'm on Orange and just manually checked and the update was there so I installed it.

    I think the total memory(RAM) has reduced, now I have 596MB and with nothing running only 123MB free.

    For the first 20 minutes after updating everything was really laggy (especially when going into the settings menus) but I restarted the phone and now it's fast again.

    The new unlock animation seems a bit pointless but I can't find any way of turning this off, although you don't have to wait for the animation to finish, you can click on the screen to stop it, or if you want to press a soft key then just press it straight away and that stops the animation.

    Everything else works just as it did before the update or better. Not found any other problems yet but I'm sure I will!
     
  3. philc387

    philc387 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Female
    Currently downloading the update (on Orange). Checked for updates as I have been doing for the past few weeks not expecting anything to happen and the update popped up. Looking forward to seeing what's changed.
     
  4. jmp003

    jmp003 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Just wondering if any of you guys had the 1.47 before you got the prompt for this, I am currently on 1.28 and was nervous about updating to 1.47 as it had various issues! Thanks =)
     
  5. maxpower101

    maxpower101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    finally got the update on virgin and i'm loving it phone seems a lot quicker and i love some of the new features.

    question...when you customise lockscreen it gives you choice of 6 widgets is there a way to add more

    thanks
     
  6. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    @maxpower101

    On the Desire S phones I've seen, it only allows for 4 lock screen shortcuts, but these can be from any on your list of shortcuts (Personalize > Shortcut). I don't think there's any way to increase the number of lock screen shortcuts.
     
  7. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    @jmp003

    I don't know if your phone will update to 1.47, then to 2.* or update straight to 2.*. But, if it updates to 1.47, then it should find the 2.* update (if it's available) immediately afterwards.

    One proviso: Orange and Virgin users have confirmed that the 2.* is available, but I haven't yet seen anything from T-Mobile users.

    Edit: You may also want to see this post, from someone who recently updated to the new Sense 3.0 ROM, from a similar position to you.
     
  8. PeterGr

    PeterGr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I am with Virgin UK I just downloaded the update that was fine then went to install it and then not so fine....

    I got say 22% done on the update then I got a phone icon with a red triangle with a ! on it :/ Any help at this point I would be happy with as I do not want to call the dim wits at Virgin :(
     
  9. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    @PeterGr

    First, try a soft reset: Power off phone > Remove battery for 30 seconds > Replace and power on.

    If that doesn't work, and if you can't use any functions of the phone, then you may have to consider a factory reset.
     
  10. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
  11. PeterGr

    PeterGr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    That dose not work I have tried that one before coming here LOL. This is what the phone says when I have to hold the power button down and vol up.....

    I will have to reply back here later with it as its a bit long.
     
  12. PeterGr

    PeterGr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("system/framework/com.htc.resources.apk"."f833411e60dc3876e194a1c63636b867faf711a863"."68a9a3e40b8557c2fce44febb92a9674b4eab4b6")
    E:Error in /sdcard/download/OTA_Sage_S_Virgin_Mobile_2.13.351.6-1.47.351.2_release_231143vunyigsoxclccanj.zip
    (Status 7)

    No idea what that is but that is the reason I get the problem.
     
  13. notebook

    notebook Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    732
    169
    93
    @PeterGr

    Try the soft reset again and, if necessary, the factory reset, but this time without your SD card (and SIM) in the phone, and try it with a different blank (formatted) SD card in the phone.

    If the problem remains, then it's probably time to send the phone in to be repaired/have the update flashed to your phone.

    I appreciate why you may not want to leave your phone with Virgin to be fixed, but if you tried flashing a ROM yourself (the only other alternative), you may further brick your phone during the process and your warranty would be invalid.
     
  14. PeterGr

    PeterGr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Nop that dose not work I will just have to send it to Virgin it most likely has something to do with them any way be the looks of it.

    Need to get me old cam out now to take pics of the phone.

    But thanks for the help :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...