1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

fastboot doesn't work, adb does work ??

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by driesdep, Dec 9, 2017.

  1. driesdep

    driesdep Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Dec 8, 2017
    5
    0
    15
    Hello,
    I have here a strange problem :
    i have connect my tablet (samsung galaxy tab s), into my computer,
    And when i type : adb devices ; my computer returns a number (which is fine)

    When i type : fastboot devices ; he can't find the device.
    (and when i try to unlock , he ask to connect a device ...)
    any idea how i can fix this problem ?

    Thank you
    dries
     

    Advertisement

  2. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,312
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,312
    658
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Samsung devices don't use or have a fastboot option.
     
  3. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    26,697
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    26,697
    15,958
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Could be the OP is trying to unlock and/or root this Samsung with incorrect information? In which case, @driesdep STOP NOW! ...before you possibly brick and kill it. What is it exactly you're trying to do with your tablet?
     
    Jfalls63, Hadron and James L like this.
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,081
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,081
    18,195
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    In any event fastboot and ADB require the device to be in different modes, so no phone or tablet will respond to both ADB and fastboot commands at the same time.
     
  5. driesdep

    driesdep Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Dec 8, 2017
    5
    0
    15
    i want to install the lineage OS
     
  6. driesdep

    driesdep Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Dec 8, 2017
    5
    0
    15
    if i type only fastboot, then i can see all the options from fastboot ... (but fastboot devices doesn't work)
     
  7. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    If fastboot can't find your device it's a driver issue.
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    26,697
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    26,697
    15,958
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Are you following the directions for Samsung Galaxy Tab S from here...
    https://download.lineageos.org/
    ...or somewhere else?


    Samsung devices have something called "download mode" and NOT fastboot.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,081
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,081
    18,195
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    That's the fastboot command telling you what the options are. It will do that even if there is no device connected.

    James has said above that Samsung devices don't use fastboot (Samsung always do things differently). You use different tools to flash things to them (the name "Odin" comes to mind). So you need to find a recipe for your device, not a procedure for other devices or manufacturers.

    (I've never attempted to mod the only Samsung I own, a Note 10.1, so can't advise on how to do this).
     
  10. driesdep

    driesdep Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Dec 8, 2017
    5
    0
    15
    i had already a TWRP install on my tablet. So i could install the leneage fairly easy. I didn't went anymore to the fastboot option ...
    On the installation, the GAPPS wasn't installed (i couldn't found any playstore anymore),
    but i hope i will find also a solution for this ...

    Anywhere, thanks for everything .
    (But i still have a lot of things to discover )) )

    Thank you
    dries
     
  11. driesdep

    driesdep Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Dec 8, 2017
    5
    0
    15
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,081
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,081
    18,195
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Unforgiven likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...