1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Fastboot unknown command

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by Odin89, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    Hey all, iv done quite a bit of reading trying to fix this problem, thought I'd ask some people who knew more about it. I have an Alcatel one touch Conquest 7046t os 5.0.2. I have acquired root and am trying to see if the boot loader is locked, issuing commands through adb all work perfectly, but fast boot doesn't work properly. Alcatel uses a custom pid -i 0x1bbb, when issuing commands without the pid fastboot says waiting for device no matter what cmd I issue, using the pid I can see device listed but that is all. When trying boot or flash anything I am met with a failure, remote: unknown command. When simply trying to reboot to system fastboot -i 0x1bbb reboot, it replies rebooting....but the phone does nothing. I thought it mite be windows 10 so I ran a live CD of Linux, same responses. Can anyone help with this. Iv never ran into these problems of all the boost mobile devices iv rooted and flashed.
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hmm, @Odin89, a quick Google search reinforces what you're saying for some other Alcatel devices, too...:thinking:

    So, fastboot devices by itself doesn't return anything but fastboot -i 0x1bbb devices does work?

    How about fastboot -i 0x1bbb getvar all ?

    It is possible that the bootloader won't respond to any useful commands--some devices just don't (blame the manufacturer for that :( ).

    Also, are you using a USB 3.0 port? If so, try a USB 2.0 port and possibly another/different USB cable just to rule-out some other possible causes.

    That's all I got at the moment...
     
    Odin89 likes this.
  3. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    Ty for the reply! Yes its referenced on google, I had searched finding only other devices info or workarounds. The getvar all command was one I did not know thx! Brought this to the forums hoping to get any kind of progress or to just learn :) I had no idea some manufacturers would not include a boot loader functional with fastboot :eek:. Fastboot -i 0x1bbb getvar all command returned successful but says all: and is just blank, but no failed or unknown command error! If I can't use fastboot to flash zips and such I could use 3rd party apps, but how would I know if my boot loader is locked? Is there an app or an adb/shell or terminal command I could check? Or maybe a 1 time boot to custom recovery? (if it booted it would prove boot loader is unlocked, if not I could boot back to regular)

    And yes fb devices returns waiting for device and stalls but fb -i 0x1bbb devices shows it detected. The device number is the same as the one detected by adb devices
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yeah, the bootloader might be locked-down and the lack of response from the fastboot commands may indeed indicate that your bootloader is locked. There's precious little information out there from what I can find in a Google search, so that may not necessarily be true, though :)dunno: :p).

    I did find this interesting chain of pages:


    that says that your device has a Qualcomm Snapdragon 410 MSM8916 processor.

    A search of "Qualcomm Snapdragon 410 MSM8916 bootloader" provides this PDF document:


    and that document reveals a few other fastboot commands that might be fruitful for you (all cautions apply, though--be careful about what you choose to try :)), but the "oemdevice-info" option does look like it might be helpful.
     
    Odin89 likes this.
  5. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    WONDERFUL!! what an amazing find. I have minimal knowledge of adb and fastboot, I can tell from the PDF that fastboot commands are disabled by default on the lk kernel!! It says I need to move them to the usable cmds area, I am unsure the process. Would it be too much to ask that you view the commands and shoot me simple ones?! there are a lot of (*/ I'm unsure if their needed or of how to move these disabled commands to usable!! Thank you so much for helping Scary Alien! Great progress!
     
    scary alien likes this.
  6. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    And yes its locked by default but unlockable :) good thing I didn't just jump to testing! That PDF was such an awesome find, wish there were a like twice button haha
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Unfortunately, you'll likely be unable to change the bootloader to enable those extra command since the bootloader is developed (compiled and burned into a chip on your phone) and locked by the manufacturer and not changeable by folks like us :(.

    I was just hoping that some of the commands shown in there might be helpful and/or revealing to you.
     
    Odin89 likes this.
  8. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    Ah I see. I'll keep trying :) ty
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    did you find solution i am noob and facing same issue on my mobile
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,547
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,547
    23,002
    3,118
    Scotland
    Does your mobile allow the use of fastboot commands? I know some manufacturers block fastboot access.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Well, on the surface, as I indicated in my PM reply, without further information--same question would likely lead to the same replies. Please post that additional information here for all to see :).

    Also, as EP alluded to, some manufacturers will also block certain fastboot commands, notable the unlock feature if that's what you're trying to do / getting at...
     
    Mikestony and El Presidente like this.
  12. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    i am able to boot in fastboot, mobile detected as fastboot devices retured serial no . and also fastboot getvar-all returned, but rest command like boot, reboot,unlock all failed remote unknown command
    @scary alien what additional information u need please tell i will try to proivide
    i have attached schreenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Can't see your attachment as it's an MS/Word document...can you re-post as an image (.png, jpg, .gif, etc.), please?

    That may not matter if it matches what you said above...many bootloaders are simply "locked" because the device-side that fastboot "talks to" simply will not implement or ignores things like the unlock commands, or disabling the key/button sequence to enter bootloader mode or flat-out disabling the USB driver when in bootloader mode. I.e., several ways to lock you out.

    From https://www.codeaurora.org/blogs/little-kernel-based-android-bootloader:

    Q2) How do I disable 'fastboot' for my commercial device?

    A2) Personally, I would like to see commercial devices leave 'fastboot' enabled. It goes in the spirit of Android Open Source Project where end users and developers have access to the source code to allow them to modify it and upgrade their device over usb using 'fastboot'.
    However, if OEMs or network providers want to lock down 'fastboot' it can be done by disabling the keypad and usb driver in bootloader. This can be customized in the following files:

    lk/app/aboot/fastboot.c

    lk/app/aboot/aboot.c

    If fastboot otherwise works (i.e., fastboot devices and fastboot getvar all), then any error you get after that indicates a command sequences that's incorrect or not implemented.

    There is one last/other thing to consider, on many devices--especially Nexus devices--there is a Settings -> Developer options -> OEM unlocking switch that must be enabled before you're allowed to unlock your bootloader. I'm not sure that's relevant in your case, but it certainly wouldn't hurt to check.
     
  14. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    please find the attached file of response of my fastboot command if you need any thing else, then say i will try to get this
    i dont where the fastboot.c ane aboot.c file is located in my firmware so elobrate more because i am noob in this, also the firmware in.cpb format which i already extracted but not found any file like u mentioned .
    please check my file and reply , thx
     

    Attached Files:

  15. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    yes my mobile coolpad note 5 has option oem unlocking option on developer setting , which i already enabled before trying above
     
  16. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    It looks like your bootloader is locked (note the "secure:yes" line from the getvar all output) and/or the fact that the commands to unlock / flash / boot all report "FAILED (remote: unknown command)".

    Some devices simply do not allow unlocking the bootloader--not sure what else to tell you or to have you try...

    Sorry :(.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  17. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    you replied about editing the files aboot.c will this work so how i do this plese tell about this
     
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Not sure what you mean...I never posted anything about editing aboot.c--I posted a link that discussed/included information about methods for how some vendors / manufacturers might lock down their bootloaders.
     
  19. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    well ok one more question i have complied twrp for this , but stuck because cant flash it , ygdp tool flash .cpb of it. and i am unable to replace stock recovery with custom on it , because the version supported is directly flashing it without decompressing so can you help on it
     
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Sorry, but I'm not at all familiar with .cpb files or the ygdp flash tool.
     
  21. hari prashad

    hari prashad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016

    Dec 27, 2016
    12
    0
    25
    Male
    ok i did it flashed recovery
     
  22. justforcomment

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017

    Oct 6, 2017
    1
    0
    5
    hari pashad
    look like we on same track on same train with same issue.
    i have also one of the phone of cool pad and faced same problem while try to do same command <fastboot boot twrp.img> as seen in pic so at last how did u flashed recovery? and did these command working for u <fastboot boot twrp.img>??
     

Share This Page

Loading...