1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Fastest way to switch between roms??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkworld260, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. darkworld260

    darkworld260 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    167
    8
    36
    i was wondering if anyone knew the fastest way to switch between roms? i am using clockworkmod recovery but if it requires RA i will be happy to switch over! i was thinking i would have to probably backup and restore the roms but im not completely sure.
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    the fastest way to jump between roms is to:
    1)flash rom, make a nandroid,
    2)flash another rom, make a nandroid
    then just restore the nandroids for each rom.
    of course don't forget to wipe everything in bewteen flashing.
     
  3. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Do you mean actual length of time in recovery? Between RA and CW, there about the same time wise. If you're talking in terms of flashing and setting up a ROM the way you like it, TB would would be the fastest but can get buggy if you restore apps + data. There is an option there named "Migrate System Data", which attempts to preserve DB structure and to migrate your data across incompatible ROM versions (ie: transferring data/settings/apps from Sense to AOSP), it in the experimental stage so use w/ caution.

    EDIT: LOL Nevermind, I didn't read the question carefully enough! :p
     
  4. darkworld260

    darkworld260 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    167
    8
    36
    i was looking for more of an answer like this thanks but i dont like the fact that it takes like 5 minutes to switch between roms........
     
  5. Hunterbeav

    Hunterbeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    373
    38
    43
    Home Care Nurse
    Notheast Ohio
    You think 5 mins is a long time to switch between operating systems? I think it's amazing it can be done that quickly. Try switching between operating systems on you PC it takes an hour or so.
     
  6. darkworld260

    darkworld260 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    167
    8
    36
    well on a computer, you can dual boot. and with a solid state drive idk if it would take an hour, more like 15 to 30 minutes (at least for me thats how long it takes on my pc :) ) (unless your not running a solid state drive then its going to take about an hour)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...