1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Faulty Cameras

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dblake15, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. dblake15

    dblake15 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    64
    4
    16

    Advertisement

  2. iPhoneMilk

    iPhoneMilk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    207
    5
    46
    Thanks a ton for sharing, that's going to be the FIRST THING i do when i get my droid, check for clicking sounds.

    Hope i don't get a bad one =/
     
  3. andrewdoane

    andrewdoane Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    50
    0
    15
    All I can say is that I hope this is the reason so many reviews said the camera was terrible. I would hate to think I'm going to have the same hatred for Motorola's hardware that I had with my Q but I'd be willing to go through a bad phone or two if it meant a top-notch camera instead of a crappy one.
     
  4. Kamilli0n

    Kamilli0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    108
    1
    36
    Freight Broker @ Mercer
    Johnson City, TN
    My camera is making the clicking noise. I'll probably wait a couple weeks and take it back to Verizon, maybe they will have a new shipment in by then.
     
  5. iPhoneMilk

    iPhoneMilk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    207
    5
    46
    Dang Kamillion... sorry man = //


    I sure hope mine doesn't have one.. to be honest going through stuff like this is probably going to make me just take it back for good.

    That's why i jumped on the iPhone scene way back, i never had to take back a single one of my Iphones for a single thing! and i've bought all 3.

    I thought that we got passed all this hardware nonsense back in the day...

    This better not happen to me!
     
  6. ratchetjaw

    ratchetjaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009

    Jan 30, 2009
    260
    10
    38
    That guy kind of retracted that statement last i read, the clicking isnt a hardware issue it is usual some just louder than others. Mine is working fine and pics look good to me:D
     
  7. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    My Magic camera makes a clicking sound , usually when it is trying to focus especially using the "Barcode scanner" app where it has to focus. I Don't think this clicking sound is a problem??
     
  8. wsbsteven

    wsbsteven Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    For those that miss it.
     
  9. icstars989

    icstars989 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Very good find guys, here's the retraction on page 4 for those who don't feel like reading through it.

    "I've found out today that the camera 'clicking' sound is normal, but some units may be louder or quieter, but the hardware isn't defective. The problem with the autofocus not working is purely a software issue and will be fixed in the next software upgrade, expected between Thanksgiving and Christmas."
     
  10. iPhoneMilk

    iPhoneMilk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    207
    5
    46
    I'm not sure if i'm buying that the clicking sound is normal...

    How is that in any way normal?


    the iPhone has AMAZING auto focus... i would say probably the best auto focus i've ever seen on a phone.. it's super fast... and works well...

    I can hold up my iPhone to the side of my face even right now and take a picture and i don't hear any clicking sounds for auto focusing.


    Am i missing something?
     
  11. sixpack

    sixpack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    41
    3
    36
    Mine as well, did a chat support session with Rogers and they said "when you take the picture yes it makes a sound" lmao. Basically it came down to them telling me to take it to a store and compair with another Magic. Going to check it out today. Oh and I found this on another site as well... Auto focus clicking - Android Community Forums
     
  12. jmhatz

    jmhatz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    17
    0
    35
    Student
    NY
    I ran into the issue of the camera not focusing. Over and over it would only display red in the corners showing it wont focus. The stores display however, worked fine and focused. Both mine and the store display make a ticking noise while trying to focus however.

    They swapped 4 phones and all had the focus issue but I was informed that it's a known issue by motorola and they're supposidly pushing an update for this issue on 12/11. I was worried the ticking was a hardware issue but the display that focuses made the same noise so I guess I'll have to wait with a shit camera until then.
     
  13. Matthew

    Matthew Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    183
    8
    56
    Michigan
    Well I don't know if I am having camera problems because it makes a noise but I thought it was just the autofocus. But whats weird is when it tries to focus and you see it on the screen it cycles through the focus and the image comes into focus and then back out of focus when it finally takes the picture.
     
  14. kelley350x

    kelley350x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Estimator
    Beaumont, TX
    sometimes my camera is telling me to insert memory card before taking pic and then the camera app closes? I dont know what the deal is..

    addition to first statement.. right after making this post i tried to take a pic and it took a picture with no problem then the whole phone hung up and then restarted by its self..
     
  15. DGalt

    DGalt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    367
    8
    36
    lol everyone I know who has an iPhone has had to get it replaced at least once. My gf just got one, the camera was broken on the first one. She returned it and the one they gave her had a defective screen. So they replaced the screen. Hopefully nothing else will happen (she's had the thing for a week :eek:)

    But yeah, hopefully this clicking thing isn't really an issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...