1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Favicons

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by david83, May 2, 2011.

  1. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    On my home screen, how can I get a bookmark to display the websites favicon instead of the default red flag icon? Sometimes it works, most of the time is doesn't. Has it got something to do with the website in question? e.g. Engadget favicon is displayed but with Amazon I get the red flag.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    I'd guess this is a browser issue, specifically how the browser deals with the code for the icon in the web page's header.

    Endgadget uses standard code for the shortcut icon:

    Code (Text):
    1. <link rel="shortcut icon" href="[URL="http://androidforums.com/view-source:http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.engadget.com/media/favicon.ico"]http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.engadget.com/media/favicon.ico[/URL]" />
    Amazon uses no such code. I'm guessing they simply place favicon.ico in the root directory of the web site since most browsers will detect it there. Both IE and Firefox display the icon for both sites, so clearly the browser you're using (the default one?) doesn't like whatever Amazon is doing.
     
    david83 likes this.
  3. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    Ah thanks for that answer, much appreciated :) So is there a browser on the market that will always display the favicon? or is it always going to be a case of it might/might not?
     
  4. Darkseas

    Darkseas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    212
    25
    43
    Don't know why I guessed about what Amazon does, except that I was tired when I replied. It's easily checked. They do put it in the home directory.

    http://www.amazon.com/favicon.ico

    I'd guess Firefox will always do it, but I can't say for sure because my phone doesn't have an ARM 7 processor to run it.

    Other popular browsers are Opera and Dolphin. However, even if they do correctly show the icon, you might find them objectionable in other ways. They're free, so you can easily give them a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...