1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Favorite Root Applications

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Trident, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    What are your favorite applications for the Motorola Droid X that require root access? Please include a brief description of the app and how to get it. I will update the OP with the apps that you post. Thanks! :D
    [QR Codes are hidden, click "show" to see them.]

    List of Applications:

    Titanium Backup- Backs up everything - can't live with out it. It's available for free on the market. To unlock all features, donate $3.99 within the app. (Requires Busybox - can install from within app)
    [​IMG]
    Root Explorer- Makes exploring files on your phone easy. It's available for UK
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    +1 Trident, that's a great list already! Already a couple that I didn't know about that I can use on my (already rooted) Eris. Thanks!
     
  3. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    does cachemate have a widget to place on the home screen for one touch cache clearing?
     
  4. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    Why would we want to clear cache's other than to hide something that is?
     
  5. swagner53

    swagner53 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    291
    62
    53
    Wifi Tether for Root bar none. It really is the sole reason I root.
     
  6. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,243
    23,429
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    To keep things nice and clean and regain some memory back. The browser cache for example, can get quite large pretty fast. You can regain many MBs of memory for apps by periodically clearing the cache. This is really useful on phones like the Eris that don't have the GBs of space that the X does. Might also make your phone a little more responsive if it doesn't have to manage all of the cache files.
     
    jreed2560 likes this.
  7. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    SetCpu is still a good root app even without a custom kernel:D
     
  8. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Yes, it sure does! :)
    Good call. I'll add that one in just a bit.
    Thanks!

    Edit: Added SetCPU and Temp Monitor.
     
  9. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    I'm going to try out AutoKiller. I'm not really fond of ATK much anymore. Looks like autokiller is much like Pete's script that adjusts Android's task manager's minfree settings.

    Anyone have any suggested settings? The defaults were 42-48-48 and I'm testing 50-60-60 now.
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Yeah I hate task killers. What I like about autokiller is that it just fine tunes what android already does naturally
     
  11. Sheba611

    Sheba611 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    112
    13
    58
    Lancaster, CA
    Titanium backup can also be used to delete bloatware (just be careful what you delete). I used Shoot Me to take screen shots. Super easy to use. Just start the app, hide it and shake your phone to to take the screen shot.
     
  12. Gamble

    Gamble Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    426
    77
    53
    Va Beach, VA
    Trident, where in Va Beach are you from?

    I live in Glenwood, but I frequent all over the place.
     
  13. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    That's awesome! I'm right by the Oceanfront.. I live in Harbor Point which is right over the Rudee Inlet bridge on the South side.

    It's always nice to see some locals on the forums! :)
     
  14. IamMBS

    IamMBS Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I just installed WIRED Tether for Root users, but the app says it's incompatible with the kernel on the Droid X. Am I missing something? Has anyone confirmed that WIRED Tether will work on the Droid X?

    Thanks
     
  15. Gamble

    Gamble Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    426
    77
    53
    Va Beach, VA
    I know right where that is. I used to be a manager at the Hilton VBO/Catch 31 from 2005-2009. I also worked at the Va Beach Fishing Center a looong time ago. Nice to see you on here too!

    Back on topic, nice app list!
     
  16. Gamble

    Gamble Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    426
    77
    53
    Va Beach, VA
    I'm trying it now too, I'm using the strict preset, 60-70-80. I'll see how that goes, I might bump it up to aggressive after a bit.
     
  17. MR_2FNGRZ

    MR_2FNGRZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    80
    6
    16
    804 Va by 718 Ny
    I live in Chesterfield, if that counts... lol
     
  18. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Nope, it doesn't work, but EasyTether and PDAnet do.
     
  19. droidSPARX

    droidSPARX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    237
    14
    38
    drocap2, Wifi tether

    forgot about that adblock
     
  20. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Removed from the list.
     
  21. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    when I had it on my rooted Eris I ran it on the highest setting possible and it ran like a dream
     
  22. Gamble

    Gamble Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    426
    77
    53
    Va Beach, VA
    I'm running it on the "Aggressive" setting, and I'm not sure that I see a difference. My available memory is still hovering around the same number as it did when it was running at default. If I go to the processes tab and manually kill some apps, then it will stay consistently high.

    Fabolous, have you noticed a difference in running yours?
     
  23. isasdroid

    isasdroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I was tethering (using pdanet) just fine until I upgraded the software that came in on my cell (Eris HTC Droid) now it doesnt work anymore. Someone please tell me what to do in order to fix this. Thanks
     
  24. aldo

    aldo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    122
    62
    53
    I find shootme to be much easier/nicer for SS than drocap.
     
  25. serpa4

    serpa4 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    767
    56
    78
    Army
    Where is: Wireless Tether for Root Users
    I've found it on my android market, and loaded using your bar code...but
    cannot find it on my PC in the market. Why, I keep a book mark of all my apps so when I have to get a new phone, I have a link to the 100+ apps I have installed. Went from Dinc to DX and forgot about 1/2 the apps I had installed and spent days looking for them. Anyone have a link to it on the market, specifically AndroLib.
     

Share This Page

Loading...