1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Few Basic Questions re Upgrading Roms in General

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by m4p, Apr 4, 2020.

1. m4p

m4p Newbie

I apologize but wasn't sure where to put this question. The phone is old LG Volt LS740 & didn't think people participated in those forums anymore. Anyway, I think my questions are more basic hopefully and can be answered. I am no expert. Anyway, back 5 years ago I installed a custom stock LG Rom and zv4 radio. My phone back then was version zv3. However once I rooted and installed the Rom and version 4 radio, my phone became zv4.

Everything was fine recently until it got stuck in CWM recovery. I managed to install TWRP over it and finally fixed the problem but had to go back to stock version zv3 and to re-root the phone. I now want to go back to to the Custom Stock Rom with zv4. I still have the custom stock rom and the version 4 radio. Before I use TWRP to get there, I looked at the Rom and notice in it is "recovery.img". Will that put CWM back on my phone, or will it leave TWRP the way it is? Should I delete the "recovery.img" from the zip file of the rom first?

I'm thinking if that is successful, I"d like to install either CM 12.1 for Volt with gapps, CM 13.0 for Volt with gapps or Lineage 14 for Volt with gapps. If I install any of these, will I have to upgrade the Volt's radio or is that built into the Rom?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

if it is just the stock custom rom, then no it will not revert back to CWM. i do not have your phone, but i never heard of flashing a custom rom that also installs recovery. installing recovery is an entirely separate process. but i could be wrong. i never have owned an lg phone.

just make sure to make a nandroid backup before you do anything else.

MrJavi and m4p like this.
  3. m4p

m4p Newbie