1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

few questions about ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elistheman, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. elistheman

    elistheman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    i have a SGS2 for a week and it is my first android phone..
    i just rooted it today using this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1103399
    just to install chains3D LOL

    in short i would like to know what are the benefits of installing a custom rom?
    and can it simply be done without the pc? or that i need to flash kernels etc?

    thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    a custom rom has features built in that the stock rom doesnt.. it all depends on which custom rom ur using. some claim to have better battery life (some do, actually), some remove annoying nags from the stock rom (lockscreen lag is apparently lessened or removed on some custom roms).. stuff like that. read up on some of the custom roms available for the SGS2 and then go for it if u like wat u hear.

    u need to flash the custom rom onto ur phone, via CWM, seeing that u used the CF root method, it shouldnt be a problem. if the custom rom u want includes QR code, u can download it directly on to the phone and flash via CWM. so u dont need a PC :)
     
  3. elistheman

    elistheman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    well 10 minutes after i posted it i have installed villian rom.. so far no problems i couldnt fix... seems the same to me.... ui wise
     
  4. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    yeah, the UI on most custom roms are similar or the same. if u want a different UI, u want to try a different launcher. ADW, Go launcher etc
     
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,928
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,928
    3,659
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah it's pretty much the same look. However you can customise worth Villain Tweaks
     
  6. elistheman

    elistheman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    i have a problem now.... i updated the modem and now stuck on edge...
    i tried resetting and nothing! i tried all the modem versions and nothing!
    what is this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...