1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Few questions...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jjrx3, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    hey im new to the forum but ive been browsing the site for a while... I have some questions (hopefully not repeats) about the Connect...

    1. This one is about the battery: Should i let the battery die down to 0% or should I charge it before... (stock battery)

    2. Does anyone know if there is background data widget/toggle? Is the an app that will do this with one touch? Im currently using "Sync Settings" to have a shortcut...

    3. General Q: Does wifi disturb the strength of the cell signal?
    -Most of my neighbors have wifi, so i think that is why i do not get a strong signal inside my room.

    4. When ever i power on my phone, the time is not correct. anyone else have a similar problem? it automatically retrieves the right time when i turn on the signal...

    ---*** 5. Is there a way to change how many time the phone vibrates for text notifications??
    6. do radio apps use data??/ I used it on WIFI but it didn't show on my data/wifi tracker? I used ESPN Deportes Radio

    hopefully someone can help me out.... thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jprosek

    jprosek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    86
    14
    18
    Wellll...
    1 lithium ion batteries have very little battery memory, I have found that one a week or so its good to kill it completely and do a full charge but it dosent really matter.

    2 yes its in the market search for data switch and you should find it. And on a side note it will almost double ur battery life by keeping it off when ur not using it

    3 wifi and 4g have similar wavelengths so there is going to be some interferrence but it is much more likely that the building materials of your building (concrete is going to insulate better than say wood) or topography of your area ie. If your in a valley its much harder to get signal, one of these is probably your culprit

    4 never seen that before try updating your prl settings by dialing *228 (i believe) or checking your time settings the time on my phone works fine
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  3. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    i have used Data Switch but im looking for a quick widget to turn off the background data. i.e. checking for facebook notifications, email, and so on...

    i do live in a valley in Los Angeles. I guess its something to do with my building because as soon as i step outside, i get 4G.. oh well...

    4. if i manually change the time, it will still change next time i power on the device...
     
  4. jmwinf146

    jmwinf146 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    217
    14
    38
    My time was doing the same. I don't think its doing that anymore. That may have been fixed in a update like ZVA. I'm not sure because I now leave my phone on. Extreme call blocker from the market is awesome!
     
  5. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    1. you should do it at least once but i hear doing a lot can actually damage your battery.

    2. i use widgetsoid. there's also elixer 2. look for them in the play store.

    3. could be but i dont know for sure. i know when i go to certain neighborhoods i get a very bad signal but if i go somewhere outside of that neighorhood of houses my signal is fine.

    4. never had this issue. go into your settings and select date and time. make sure the automatic box is checked and the 24 hour format box is unchecked. other than that the clock shouldnt have any problems.
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  6. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Thats what i do... the time corrects itself as soon as i go off airplane mode. Its just kind of annoying but its alright i guess...
     
  7. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    yeah, going into airplane mode completely severs you from the network so you cant get the proper time automatically.
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  8. myshkin

    myshkin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    441
    65
    63
    retired respiratory therapist
    Ft Worth, Texas
    I use 3G watchdog & it has a widget to turn your data on & off & a widget that shows you how much data you have used. You put in your monthly allowance of data & it keeps track of it for you.
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  9. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    thanks for all the responses... I tried out the apps recommended but they are not what im looking for... im looking for something to turn of the background data not 4G or 3G..
     
  10. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    Try widgetzoid or elixer 2. They have toggles for just about anything.
     
  11. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    I did but they only open the settings menu...
    I have that with Sync Settings...

    i think there is not widget in the play store... :(
     
  12. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    5. Is there a way to change how many time the phone vibrates for text notifications??
     
  13. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    yes... but i forget how. its part of the ringtone files i believe but i never tried on this phone.
     
  14. Mexjoker

    Mexjoker I'm Not Real, Doris!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,078
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    3,078
    1,008
    313
    Male
    High School Student
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I use go sms to change the way it vibrates. You can give it a try
     
  15. old_member

    old_member Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    1. Let it die , or charge it if you might have to go somewhere and it will be a long ride , If you were going to Maine from New York in 1 hour from now , Charge and then it might be 50% charged , instead of waiting it to die out

    2. Powerful Control in the Play Store (Android Market) is the best , Or Anycut

    3. They interfere alot so it is best to be in a area with less wifi (My phone service interferes with my laptop's wifi sometimes and it is a hassle for me to reboot my laptop and then continue what I was doing)

    4. Either put manual time , or use your Phones carrier time , Like from MetroPCS .... Also make sure Daylight's saving time is on or then you might be a hour ahead or behind :)

    5. Settings , or use Handcent SMS or Go SMS , I recommend Go SMS *Makers of Go Launcher EX* because of the themes and it is not hard to use either , Handcent SMS is a iPhone Close SMS app

    6. Yes it does use data , It needs to stream the audio which can pack a punch in data if you use it alot (I used to use that app and it used over 100 MB in data in a few minutes of streaming it , but enjoyable)

    If you want to turn off background data , Use Onova or apps like Background Data Switch , On the Market/Play store

    I hope I helped you and have a nice day , people :)

    -Mike from Verizon Wireless at Peabody , MA
    "Verizon is the true #1 carrier of the USA covering 98% of Americans , Introducing the new SHAREverything plan , See online for more details , Only at Select Stores"
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  16. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Anyone else have a volume issue/problem with the youtube app when using the earphones?

    When ever i watch videos on YT through the earphones its not too loud as when i listen to music on the music player. Anyone else have this issue or a fix?
     
  17. schemppjr80

    schemppjr80 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    210
    39
    43
    Male
    stay at home dad currently
    west Melbourne, FL

    I can't say i have that issue but i have a volume enhancer app that i use ill figure out witch one it is and let u know in a min. K brb...........
    I'm back and its called music volume eq its free in the play store and it has a cool widget as well. Once u get it and get the eq's where u like them when playing music u can save them and name it as u like and in the settings of the app u can also set it up so when u turn ur volume down it will shut it off and on when u turn the volume up. But if u use a task killer (like i do) u will have open the app or widget to restart/run it. I use it all the time when watching you tube, netflix, stuff online, or listing to i heart radio with or without my headphones. I personaly like the app very much but there r others in the play store u may like better. Try it out c if u like it, if not search the market for volume enhancers. I hope this helps u out and have a great day. :)
     
    jjrx3 likes this.
  18. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Has anyone used a good slim battery for this phone? I want to buy a replacement because the stock one s*cks! I used the phone for 20 min checking email, sports results, and instagram and the phone quickly goes to 85-90%.

    I dont have a lot of money to buy different batteries for the phone, so i would like your opinions on which is the best kind of slim battery. Thanks as always!
     
  19. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Is there anyway to remove the stock lock screen? Im using Holo Locker but occasionally i get a double lock screen. Is this even possible? Thanks for any help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...