1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root FF27(Boost)FG11(Sprint) Baseband Manual Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrPeter1985, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    144
    50
    53
    IT Specialist/Consultant and Webdesigner
    Jeffersonville, IN

    Advertisement

  2. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    EDIT:

    Updating to FF27 baseband with Terminal Emulator, no pc method.

    I am posting this as how I did this for my self. I take no Responsibility for damages to your phone if you follow this method.
    Terminal Emulator is a stable safe app you can get from the app store. It does have the potential to make changes in your phone that can damage your hardware. USER ERROR WARNING. Use at your own risk.

    Thanks to mavrikmeercat for posting instructions for how to do this with terminal emulator here http://androidforums.com/4510039-post42.html

    Thanks to Psycho4us4 for providing me with the baseband file.

    basebandFF27.img
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/95904711/basebandFF27.zip

    Instructions.
    Download and unzip the above file and place it in /sdcard on your phone. Unzipped file name is basebandFF27.img. MD5 for the zip
    E7211BB2F7D6D5C4BBAD5ED644538AF7

    Open Terminal Emulator on your phone(disconnect from pc first) and type in the following Blue text exactly.

    $ su (press enter)

    # dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 of=/sdcard/baseband.bak (press enter) Creates a back up of the pld baseband file and puts it on your sdcard as baseband.bak. It will take a second for the command to process. A few lines of text will pop up. It tells you what was moved where to and its size. After this.

    # dd if=/sdcard/basebandFF27.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 (press enter) wait for it to run and text will pop up as before.

    #reboot (press enter)

    That's it. When it reboots you will be updated to the FF27 baseband.

    All I did here was get the baseband file (/dev/block/mmcblk0p6) from FF27 update by having Psycho4us4 copy it from his phone, renamed the file, zip it and post it.

    DEV's feel free to use this file no credit needed since I really didn't do much.


    edit: Who wants to be a beta tester
     
  3. mabuis

    mabuis Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    35
    5
    16
    Not Detroit, MI
    How would I get it for you? Tell me how and I'll do it
     
  4. MrPeter1985

    MrPeter1985 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    144
    50
    53
    IT Specialist/Consultant and Webdesigner
    Jeffersonville, IN
    not sure, but someone did it for the FC29. I'll look for the thread and see if they mentioned how.
     
  5. ibrickphones

    ibrickphones Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    26
    9
    16
    Musican
    Hell
    Couldn't you install cwm to it, perform a backup, and then upload the file in zip format to a box and link us to it???

    - Noob or not to Noob -
     
  6. ibrickphones

    ibrickphones Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    26
    9
    16
    Musican
    Hell
    Try installing CWM to it, then performing a backup

    - Noob or Not to Noob -
     
  7. psycho4us4

    psycho4us4 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    ibrickphones likes this.
  8. ibrickphones

    ibrickphones Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    26
    9
    16
    Musican
    Hell
    I tried this method multiple times, My phone is ODD i still have EG29 Baseband, I went thru the OTA like you suggested, went thru the other steps, and still only upgraded to FC29 build, and remained with EG29 baseband...not sure Why im the only one stuck with 3g29....But I believe the guy i responded to has a stock version with no root of the new baseband, so all he would have to do is perform a cwm install and do a backup, it would save alot of us soooooo much time
     
  9. psycho4us4

    psycho4us4 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You didn't do exactly what i said thats why your baseband didn't update. It seems you too lazy to read all the corresponding posts for mavs NEW CWM, lootas no root no cwm rom, and badsectors tu_root. Thats all you need. Follow the steps and it will work man. It's not the phone it's the owner. LOL. If you want it that bad you will do your research and flash, and odin everything you need. Once again it will work just use the link i posted 2 posts ago as reference. Don't be scared it will work if done properly. NO OFFENCE . You need to do 2 OTAs though. Let it update to fc29. Then let it update to ff27. Then proceed with cwm, root, and the rest.

    To force the second OTA

    Go to system update in settings and chose Samsung software. It should trigger another update. To ff27. Let me know. If it works please THANK everyone who helped.
     
    ibrickphones likes this.
  10. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    All I need is a copy of the baseband file. EG29 it was

    /dev/block/mmcblk0p6

    If what I am assuming is true the updates are just over writing the files and it should be named the same thing on ff27.

    These other ways are to much work when you can swap the files with terminal emulator faster than I wrote this post.

    FC29 baseband broke my hotspot. Had troublle with other android devices being able to conect via foxfi. I got faster speeds but pointless when you can't make use of it.
    Katracho has promised us an update and my guess is it will be built on FF27 update so would like to be up to date.
     
  11. psycho4us4

    psycho4us4 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I think this is what you are looking for http://db.tt/xl4wLhSR
    Please thank.. this link wont be available forever so take advantage while its up. I will delete from dropbox in a few days. Hope it helps.
     
    katracho and PH8AL like this.
  12. ibrickphones

    ibrickphones Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    26
    9
    16
    Musican
    Hell

    Im very familiar with badsector and lootas programming they've helped me successfully unbrick one of my Multiple transform devices. As I said previous I followed all your steps...didn't get a 2nd OTA gonna try forcing it now keep you updated but ill try reflashing...thanks for your help! it would be a lot less time consuming if someone just made a back up rom of all the new updates! but hey your procedure seems to work so thank you
     
  13. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    Well so far it looks good. Its exactly the same size as the EG29 and FC29 files. I'm going to rename it and swap it with terminal emulator per Mavs instructions and see. Great thing is I already prooved a cwm restore will change it back.

    Thanks for posting it.
     
  14. psycho4us4

    psycho4us4 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks for thanking. Let me know if it works.
    :smokingsomb:
     
  15. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    Ok it worked awesomely.

    I changed the name of your file to basebandFF27.img and used Mavs instructions from the FC29 thread and just subbed the new file and name.

    Baseband is FF27 and I am not having any of the issues I had with FC29. I'm watching hulu plus on the wii via foxfi. I logged onto my neighbors router and surfed for a few minutes. I have also been able to conect 3 android devices with foxfi.
    If Mav doesn't mind I"ll paste his instructions in here with a correction.

    If you don't want to keep the link up I can rename it and put a link up for it.

    And for folks in general
    IF YOU TRY WHAT I DID I AM NOT RESPONSiBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE TO YOUR PHONE. TERMINAL EMULATOR HAS THE POTENTIAL TO DESTROY YOUR PHONE
     
    katracho likes this.
  16. psycho4us4

    psycho4us4 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Cool start a thread with all the details. You have the file now so i will delete it from dropbox
     
    PH8AL likes this.
  17. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    I'm away from my pc but later today I will change the file name and post a dropbox link for it.
     
  18. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    Bumping. I added instructions for updating to FF27 baseband and download link for the baseband image file in the 2nd post of this thread.
     
  19. Loota

    Loota Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    739
    487
    123
    Male
    Unemployed Medical Field Service Engineer
    Rockland, NY
    Thanks for the hard work guys.. fyi, making a cwm backup of your rom does NOT include the baseband changes otherwise any rom made with the update would include it. Someone asked me for a copy of the baseband and I apologize to them for not being able to get it but tbh... I didn't know where it was to adb pull it and I've been too busy to learn it this past week ;)
     
    Zintus likes this.
  20. Zintus

    Zintus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    53
    12
    18
    SouthEast Side, Hood

    Loota that was me who asked u for the updated baseband, i should've linked u to the post for doing basebands... my bad lol... but either way, I'm downloading it as i type this... albeit rather slowly i too am on the same boat as you my friend, no internet cept my phone... Apology accepted lol
     
    Loota likes this.
  21. zomb98

    zomb98 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012

    Apr 29, 2012
    38
    5
    36
    This worked perfectly! Thanks PH8AL


     
    MrPeter1985 and PH8AL like this.
  22. ionized

    ionized Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    24
    11
    38
    Male
    i fix electronics
    Orlando, FL
    This method with terminal emulator worked great thanks for all the work fellas.

    p.s. after 1 day of use, I can say that I see a noticeable seat of the pants increase in 3G speeds
     
    MrPeter1985 and PH8AL like this.
  23. Zintus

    Zintus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    53
    12
    18
    SouthEast Side, Hood
    Ok just wanted to say THANK YOU! :D:D:D I was able to finally download this at home... I was getting extremely, extremely painful speeds of, if I was lucky, 300 kbps !! Are you kidding me? !! Now with the baseband updated I was able to pull 1MB + at home.. MAJOR improvement! Awesome work pulling this with the Terminal Emulator. I think maybe we could start a thread just for baseband backups and have all three in one place.. Just so people can experiment? I am learning so much, just by lurking here on the forums.. Thank you guys for taking the time to do this basically for free... Unless people donate.. Which I am going to do... Soon...
     
    MrPeter1985 and PH8AL like this.
  24. PH8AL

    PH8AL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    327
    67
    73
    Glad it helped.

    I have sent a message to BluFeNiX about adding this to his baseband thread so folks can find it there and use it with the odin instructions. I posted propper instructions here because there were people following the thread as we worked it out and already a few threads with FF27 in the name. Didn't want to add to the confussion.

    There are a couple of ways of doing this. I like terminal emulator because its all done on the phone and is pretty quick and easy if you follow the instructions. This method is risky because as Mav pointed out in the new CMW thread a mistake doing this can be very bad for your phone.

    I don't recomend experimenting the way I did. I had a good feeling I was right about the files but it was still playing chicken with the train.
     
  25. j61101

    j61101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    111
    13
    38
    Awesome job guys. Way easier than having to use adb and booting into cwm :)
     
    MrPeter1985 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...