• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Files vs Playlists

kauricat

Lurker
Jan 22, 2016
I am a newbie here. Long-time computer user, but new to the Samsung Tab A.

I have just tried to copy all of the music from my iPod to the tablet (using Wondershare Tunesgo). Took ages, but all of the individual tracks are there. Not ALL of the associated data seems to be there (eg Artist, Album, Genres) - yes, for some tracks, no for many, many others.

On the iPod, I had created "Playlists" - one per album (not always spelled the same).

I attached the tablet to my desktop computer and put any tracks I could easily identify with an album into a folder of that album's name (the original playlists, I presume). Many, many tracks remain - with prefixes like 01, 02, etc. Impossible to tell to which album they belong now.

On the tablet, if I use the "Files" menu system, I can see the folders and tracks that I had moved by hand.

If I use the "Music" menu system, I can see many albums with tracks. They do not match the folders I moved by hand. The tablet has selected tracks some other way.

My question is: What is the difference between "Files", "Music" and "Playlists"?

From what I can interpret from your description, the 'Files' menu system is representing the file system of your Tab, the actual music files (probably mp3, aac, or possibly ogg) inside the folders your created.
The 'Music' menu system you refer to is probably what you're seeing through whichever media player app you're using. If so that's a matter of the media player showing what it's designed to show, in this case just the music files on your Tab, not necessarily their specific location where they're being stored.
As for your playlists, keep in mind a playlist file is just a text file with the name and location of a collection of media files. You can open one up with a text editor and you'll see something similar to this: