1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General finally skype video calls on a500

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gtp9586, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. gtp9586

    gtp9586 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    Now you can video chat with Skype on your Acer a500 with the new Skype update. Head over to the market and check it out.
     

    Advertisement

    1SG31B likes this.
  2. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Cool
    Thanks for the tip.
     
  3. 1SG31B

    1SG31B Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    84
    13
    18
    I have been waiting for this update.
     
  4. akadrew

    akadrew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    7
    1
    26
    Minnesota
    Just installed the latest version, video still not working. Acer A5 is listed as being supported but not the A500.
     
  5. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    I can't even sign in to Skype now...eh
     
  6. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    So much for that then :(
     
  7. iconianoob11

    iconianoob11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    New England
    :( yeah I was happy the date update was announced but had no luck didn't even see the video settings button
     
  8. pmandroid69

    pmandroid69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Same here, updated Skype and still no video capability. Anyone know what's up?
     
  9. tedpc01

    tedpc01 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011

    Jul 29, 2011
    151
    7
    36
    Male
    Disabled
    North Carolina
    During the Skype setup, it says if your device is not listed, you can go into the settings and try enabling it. I tried that, but does anyone know how to get into Skype's settings?
    TIA
     
  10. androidfonefan

    androidfonefan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    248
    24
    58
    Was just wondering if anyone had tried using Tango on one of these?
     
  11. evileyez3

    evileyez3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    43
    10
    18
    Developer
    USA
    I have Tango and it works pretty well. Give it a try.
     
    Randall@Tango and androidfonefan like this.
  12. androidfonefan

    androidfonefan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    248
    24
    58
    Cool, next time I am over at my friends house I will install the app and try it out.
    Maybe he will be able to finally start using the web cam.

    Is there a version of Tango for PCs?
     
  13. Randall@Tango

    Randall@Tango Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    51
    25
    23
    Leave your email at Get Tango - Tango and we will contact you when Tango for PC is available :)
     
  14. sameerkhnl

    sameerkhnl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I've got the latest version of Skype but still can't make video calls. If I use tango can I
    Video chat with friends who do not use it?
     
  15. cameldownunder

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    3
    0
    5
  16. pczone_uk

    pczone_uk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I tryed on my Acer a500 the skype no camera only sound and chat. Is there anything to setup?
    help pls
     
  17. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    You have to go into the settings and enable the video calling option.
     
  18. pczone_uk

    pczone_uk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi

    I didn't found anywhere settings for skype.
    Can you tell me which could be the steps to take ? :)
     
  19. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    Once you sign in tap the grid looking icon in the status bar at the bottom then settings, scroll down look for enable video calling and check that box

    Hope that helps :)
     
    pczone_uk likes this.
  20. pczone_uk

    pczone_uk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks it is working now :)
     
  21. Green1

    Green1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    When I go in to my settings, there is no checkbox for enabling video???
     
  22. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    do you have the most recent Skype?
    I can assure you it is there.

    **edit** maybe not in canada?????
     
  23. Green1

    Green1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Yes I have the most recent version, but for good measure I also tried some older versions just in case, and I can quite assure you that on my tablet, the option is not there.

    I would HOPE that being in Canada doesn't make any difference... but more ridiculous things have happened (though it works just fine on my Motorola Milestone, (which is funny in itself being that the milestone doesn't have a front camera!)
     
  24. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    i got my iconia about 2 weeks ago i just installed skype and click call person with video and it worked.......dont see why other are having probs
     

Share This Page

Loading...