1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips finally solved my battery issue!! (might help others)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thekidba1, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. thekidba1

    thekidba1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    Here is what worked for me:

    1. flashed the standby fix using ClockworkMod - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1732722

    2. deleted the facebook app

    3. having touchwiz screen setting all the way down and using Lux to change my display. It's usually between subzero and zero.

    4. uninstalled Juice defender and installed DS Battery Saver with 'Slumberer' setting on.

    5. Power Saving set to on

    6. Debloated using - mrRobinson_Ashaman.v2.20_signed.zip | by mrRobinson for Galaxy S 3



    This screenshot is a serious days use. A lot of texts, browsing, Youtube videos etc.

    I'm pretty sure what is definitely extending my battery is when the screen is off there is nothing in the background going on.

    It's working for me!
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    funkylogik likes this.
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,912
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    This is for ICS roms and for rooted users?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. thekidba1

    thekidba1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    31
    3
    16
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    does JD really do anything you cant do manualy mate?
     
  5. Yatezy

    Yatezy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    592
    254
    113
    How much screen time is that?

    I got rid of JD and use Tasker to switch off my data when the screen is off and only turns on when when a certain app is opened.
     
  6. thekidba1

    thekidba1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    No, it's simply more convenient. I can't imagine toggling mobile data every time I turn the phone off but like I said I don't use JD anymore. I'm using DS battery saver, which puts the phone into deep sleep when the screen is off, something JD doesn't do or didn't do for me at least.
     
  7. thekidba1

    thekidba1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    I didn't take a screen shot but it was just over 4 hours which I think is around the maximum for the s3.

    Basically you want your 'Awake' and 'Screen On' to match.
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    according to cpu spy, my phone goes into deep sleep after like 15s of screen off.
    i keep data on unless im out on a mad wkend lol. most houses i end up in have a micro usb charger but leaving my phone sat there isnt good idea so i underclock to 1ghz n its smooth as i need :)
     
  9. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    30,006
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,006
    24,912
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Thanks for the tip thekidba! Does this apply to anyone who is rooted on any carrier, or is it specific to international carriers? The reason I ask, is, and just for organizational purposes only, I would like to move this thread to the correct rooting forum is all:)
     
  10. thekidba1

    thekidba1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    31
    3
    16
    The stand by fix applies to all users but the debloating zip that I linked is only applicable for US gs3 (att, verizon,
    sprint)
     

Share This Page

Loading...