1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support find host name

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by carpman, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Hello, i wish to assign a static IP to phone using my router, but i need the host name of phone to be able to do this, trouble is can't find out what the host name for phone is?

    any ideas?

    cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Carpman - this is how to get a static IP address for your phone:

    If you find this info helpful, click thanks on El Presidente's original (4 or 5 down in the following thread) http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-support-troubleshooting/345055-desire-hd-wifi-problem.html
     
  3. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks for reply.

    I know how to setup a static via the phone, but this is of no use if you use different wireless connections which i do.

    I have also used Wifi-Static app to assign a static IP for my home network, but this can be unreliable.

    I have the ability to assign static IP to network device via mac address and hostname, i do this for my laptops fine.

    The questions still remains, how i find out what my phones host name is?

    cheers
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    Can you do it by MAC Address? All HTC Android devices have a MAC address beginning 90:21:55 (as far as I'm aware).

    Which router do you have?
     
  5. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,501
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,501
    22,914
    3,118
    Scotland
    I've had a look at how my router is configured and my phones name on the router is the same as the it's Bluetooth name. I can't remember whether or not it was like that by default, or whether I've changed it so I can easily recognise from the routers admin panel.

    Via the router, can you see connected devices? Look for that MAC and see what the router is calling it.
     
  7. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #136
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,513
    278
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
  8. Fonzig

    Fonzig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    79
    20
    18
    Male
    IT Network Engineer.
    Black Country, UK
    If your currently using DHCP, most routers will show the IP & hostname in a DHCP Client list. Mine usually comes up as ANDROID_454687354687.
    What router are you using?
     
  9. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks for replies.

    I can find nowhere in smoothwall where it will show me the host name of desire?

    In the dhcp section it does not, if i give the phone a static IP it does not show it static dns page.

    This is odd as the commercial versio of smoothwall that is used in office will show dhcp clients details, but free version will not!



    I have a rooted phone so is there any file on the phone from which i can get the host name?

    cheers
     
  10. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
  11. carpman

    carpman Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    10
    0
    15
  12. sonesh

    sonesh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    285
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    285
    31
    43
    Coventry, UK
    As Fonzig said, the host name will start ANDROID_...

    My router gave me a list of Hosts, IP's and MAC's and lists ANDROID_...

    What I can't find is this name written on the phone anywhere
     
  13. GMARKppt

    GMARKppt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012

    Nov 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Owner of www.gmark.co
    UK
    On my HTC desire, the 15 digits in the hostname following "Android_" equates to the unique IMEI of the phone's cellular radio. The global GSM standard requires that this number is printed on the device but can also be found as follows:

    1. In the phone app, press *#06# and the IMEI should appear in a popup window (not sure if this works for CDMA)
    2. In Android, go to Settings / About Phone / Phone Identity / IMEI

    What I'm also unsure of is how non-cellular Android devices generate their hostname as my tablet is using a hexadecimal sequence that doesn't look like the MAC address or the device Serial Number.
     

Share This Page

Loading...